Sometimes I wish sandwiches could last forever…that’d be an awesome life…

Suddenly it’s almost a week later…

Been a weird week.  I’ve been going back and forth from not feeling very good to feeling great to feeling okay except my shoulder hurts, to whatever…  (I have no idea what I did to my shoulder, by the way…but I did the HELL out of it.)  I don’t really have anything in particular in mind to write about, so—as you can probably tell by the insane post title—we’re going to do that “random” thing I do…

  1. I’m anxiously awaiting the new Leonard Cohen record.  At some point, Cohen went from being an artist I was aware of but not wild about to being one of my favorite artists.  I think it started in 2009 when I picked up his “Live in London” record, just for kicks.  It’s sublime (to borrow a word he himself uses on that record to describe his background singers).  Got to see him two years ago (or thereabout, might’ve only been one—but it FEELS like two years, anyway), and that remains one of my favorite shows I’ve been to in the 2000’s.  So I’m very excited that he’s doing a new record of NEW material.  Not a lot of people in their 70s do that.  I’m getting the version offered on his website that comes with a limited edition, numbered lithograph.  The lithograph prominently features a (tastefully done) nude lady, so I kinda had to talk myself into it…but like I said, he’s in his 70s.  Not likely to get too many more lithographs from him.  And it really is beautifully done.
  2. I think I’m going to make some chili tomorrow.  Then on Saturday, I’m going to get a burger from Five Guys, pour some of the chili on it, and then eat the burger.  Looking forward to either enjoying an awesome concoction…or going to the hospital.  Either way, probably a blog post in it.
  3. Snowed in St. Louis.  I like when that happens.  MoDot dropped the ball on the road-treatment though (and they basically admitted as much).  We got an inch or less and you’d think there were six inches.  Part of that is just because people in this town freak out when it RAINS, much less snows and they forget how to drive…but also, MoDot completely failed to pre-treat the streets in advance of the storm, so it ended up pretty slippery out there.  Still, I got to work and back with no real problems and was surprised to hear co-workers talking about a much icier ride than I personally experienced.  Guess I was lucky.  Took a long time getting there this morning, but it was better going home.  Plus, I like snow, and I like Winter…and you Summer-loving jerks have gotten enough nice weather to last you for a snow storm or two this season…so let me have my fun!
  4. Finally started reading Neil Gaiman’s “Sandman” comic book.  It sort of revolutionized the genre when he first wrote it (between 1989-1996).  That was a little bit before I got serious about reading comics (though I was definitely buying trades in at least the later part of the 90s), and I definitely wasn’t into his sort of stuff at that time or for a few years after…but reading it now, I feel cheated that I didn’t read it when it was new.  I’m almost tempted to only read one issue a week, just to experience some delayed gratification to somewhat mimic the experience people had at the time…but let’s face it.  I’m an American.  Gimmie gimmie gimmie!  Only about three issues in so far, but it’s great.  Can’t believe how long I’ve been missing out.
  5. For those wondering about my kitchen (ie – no one), there’s some trim that has to go up and I need to get a microwave…but it’s very very close to done.  It’s just little stuff now.  I’ll post some pics on the Tumblr page soon.  I’m particularly thrilled with how the backsplash turned out.  The contractor put up way more tile than I was originally planning, but it turned out to be exactly the right thing to do.  And I LOVE the look of the cabinets.  Just need to clean up the other (visible) rooms and get my dishes washed and put IN the cabinets…and we’re good!  🙂
  6. As I’m writing this, I’m getting a headache that’s getting worse.  It’s weird.
  7. Earthquake in Haiti happened two years ago today (err…yesterday, since it’s now after midnight…oops…).  There are estimates that 95% of the rubble from the quake still has not been removed or even addressed, and hundreds of people are still living in tent cities.  (Well…there will probably always be tent cities there…but a lot of those specific people didn’t USED to live in tent cities.)  Still worth Googling some of the benevolent organizations that are ACTIVELY working in Haiti, if you’ve got some free time.  (Or just click over to my friend Shara Lyn’s blog to see what her life there is like and what you can do to help.  You can also leave me a note in the comments and I’d be glad to provide some contact info for organizations there that I know are reliable.)
  8. Been listening to a lot of Lou Reed again/still.  Particularly enjoying “Songs for Drella,” which he wrote with John Cale (formerly of The Velvet Underground) in tribute to Andy Warhol.  Made myself a list of Lou Reed records I’d like to buy…it is…longer than expected…

And that’s all I’m going to write for now…  Headache’s gaining momentum, so I’m thinking I’m going to pop some Ibuprofen and go to bed.

Enjoy your weekend!