But Only If I KNEW I’d Succeed…

I’m sick, but SUPER awake, so I thought I’d share something I’ve had saved in a note for a while for a rainy day…

I don’t remember if I talked about it at the time, but several months back, I attended a church function that posed a question I couldn’t answer.  It was one of those fun, “imagination-land” questions that should’ve been a relatively easy answer, but I couldn’t come up with a good answer.  I’m probably butchering the exact wording, but it was to the effect of, “If you could do any ONE thing, and you knew God would give you the money or resources or whatever you need to accomplish it, what would that thing be?”

The answers around the room were a wide spectrum.  One kid said he’d shut down Trump Tower.  One woman said she’d set up a group to help underprivileged urban teens.  Another person said they’d finish their college education.  Another would write a book.  I passed on answering.  Because I couldn’t think of anything to share.  In part, I think it was an age and experience gap.  The person asking the question was approximately 25.  I’m 36.  A good, honest, real answer would’ve been, “…it’s cute that you’re still young enough to have the “what if?” dreams…but I’m creeping up on 40, my lights are on, and I’ve got extra cash to buy stupid crap.  I’m fine.”

I do think goals change like that over time.  You get hit with some realities…or at least you get to know yourself better and figure out who you are and where you’re content…  Or…  You just don’t want to give the real answer, because it’s too hard of a left turn…

Because the truth is, I’d build a pudding pool.

It’s exactly what you think it is.  A pool big and deep enough to swim laps in, filled with pudding instead of water, and you eat while you swim.  Banana pudding.  And the pool itself is made of Nilla Wafers.  I’d be happy there.  I’d even be happy if that were the last thing I ever did and I died there.  Because, let’s face it…that’s a single-use item.  And it’s a solo-use item.  Just think about your own body and hair and things…there’s no way you’d want company in that thing.  But then again, that might be a good litmus test for a relationship…if you’ve found the person you’d let into your pudding pool, you might’ve found THE ONE.  (That might’ve sounded more sexual than I intended, and I apologize.)

But…  That doesn’t really help anybody.  I don’t think God would go out of His way to let me have that.  Seems like the kind of thing I’d have to fund myself.

I really don’t know if the church-discussion would’ve gone anywhere else if I’d shared that.

Leave a Reply

