Lemmy Kilmister is Dead

I hate being right.

Eddie Trunk broke the news, subsequently posted on Facebook by Anthrax (where I first read it), and a few minutes later confirmed by the band’s official page…  The impossible has happened.  Lemmy Kilmister, whose 70th birthday just came on Christmas Eve, is dead.  I am overwhelmingly sad to write those words.  I have said for several years that “IF” Lemmy ever died, you’d find me standing on the curb, shaking my fist at the sky, shouting “THAT WASN’T PART OF THE DEAL!!!”  If not for the fucking rain, I’d actually do it.

It was less than four months ago that I attended my last–fucking LAST–Motorhead show.  It felt like it at the time.  At the end of the night, after saying, “We are Motorhead and we play rock and fucking roll” Lemmy added a beat I skipped in my post from that show…  “Don’t forget us,” he said, and shook his finger at us.  How COULD we, Lem?  You’ve left us all with hearing problems we’ll never recover from.  It’s impossible not to think of you any time I say, “Sorry?  Say that again…”

It’s very strange to have Motorhead’s music blaring in the background while I’m writing this and feel a slight numbness to it.  Motorhead always gets my blood boiling.  There’s an inherent energy and even danger to their music.  Tonight, less than two months after also losing Phil “Philthy Animal” Taylor, Lemmy–the man so toxic he could not accept a blood transfusion–has died.  There are some who say it should have been impossible for him to have lived as long as he did.  I say it should’ve been impossible for death to find him after he’d eluded it this long.  When Phil Taylor died, Lemmy wrote “Now he’s died and it really pisses me off that they take somebody like him and leave George Bush alive.”  What a glorious, complete and total bastard.

You know, earlier today I was listening to the Beach Boys…

I’ve been strangely touched by the fact that I’ve got friends who upon hearing the news immediately reached out to me with texts asking if I’d heard and expressing sympathy–like I knew the guy!  I’m glad I’m that synonymous with Motorhead to some people.  But that’s what being a fan IS…there’s a thing you won’t shut up about and all your friends think of you when they hear about it…  And I get it.  Moments after reading the news, I called my brother and said, “I thought you should hear it from me…”

The last interview Lemmy gave has a hell of a quote to go out on.  Death and illness rumors have taunted Lem for years.  He’d grown tired of them, but talked about them one last time, saying, “Death is an inevitability, isn’t it? You become more aware of that when you get to my age. I don’t worry about it. I’m ready for it. When I go, I want to go doing what I do best. If I died tomorrow, I couldn’t complain. It’s been good.”

It was, Lemmy.

Lemmy Kilmister was born on December 24, 1945.  He died on December 28, 2015.  He played rock and fucking roll.

IMG_20151228_205136.jpg
Lemmy’s “Rickenbastard” bass.  Art by Karl Haglund, http://www.fugitiveart.net.  The wall is mine.
Leave a Reply

