“I would kill everyone in this room for a drop of sweet beer.” -Homer Simpson

Thought the post title was topically funny because May 27 is the 2nd anniversary of when I quit drinking.  🙂

Those who are regulars to the blog know the Simpsons quote means it’s a random post.  Those who aren’t regular visitors are better off.

Let’s go…

  1. It’s my birthday on Friday.  There’s a good chance I’ll forget to blog about it then, so I’m doing it now.  I’ll be 35. You know what they say about turning 35!  It’s half-way to 70!
  2. I bought myself a birthday present.  I do that every year, but this year it was extra special.  I had a generous gift card sitting around and bumped into a sale online…so I ordered and have been listening to the complete, remastered Rush discography.  (I got the whole set for less than the price of ONE of the boxed sets out of my own pocket.  Didn’t break the bank on it.)  I’ve been having fun, going through chronologically.  For the first 8 or so, it was easy to listen to a couple/few albums in a row because albums were shorter in the 70s and 80s.  I’m up to the 90s now, having just listened to “Roll the Bones” (where I first started liking the band) and getting ready to blast “Counterparts” on the way to work tomorrow.  (“Counterparts” might be my favorite Rush record, FYI.)  The remasters sound great and I’m very happy to have it all in cool boxes and such.
  3. I was sick last week.  On Tuesday, I felt like I was just having a bad time with allergies while I was at work, then by the time I’d finished dinner, I knew I wasn’t going to be making it in on Wednesday.  Ended up taking Wednesday and Thursday off work–which I hated doing because I’ve been paying for it since in trying to catch up.  Finally started feeling better over the weekend.  I’ve still got a little bit of a cough, but I think the worst is over.
  4. What ISN’T over is my recurring back problem.  It’s bad this week.  Sciatic pain in the lower back, down into the left leg.  It was REALLY bad last night (like walking-with-a-cane, can’t-sleep-on-that-side bad).  Today I’ve been popping enough Ibuprofen that it’s been bearable.  I need to do some of the back exercises that I have for these situations…but as much as they help, they make me nervous, because I’m stretching stuff that hurts…  It’ll pass…hopefully before the birthday dinner.
  5. Incidentally, the birthday dinner will happen on Saturday.  I both look forward to it and also hate going to restaurants in a large group.  🙂  It’ll be nice to see everybody though.  Earlier in the day, I’ll be having lunch with my friend Doug, as well.  He’s been through a lot lately…
  6. To see what Doug has been going through, please visit www.isitenough.net and prayerfully consider ways you can help. Get mad. People who are afraid to speak need you to get mad and to talk OUT LOUD about the problem.
  7. My guitar rig keeps changing.  Recently added a “Freeze” pedal, which sustains one note/chord at a time until you step on it again.  Also swapped a Dyna Comp pedal back into the rig (it’d been missing for some time) and love how it sounds.  Got a couple other plans in mind.  It’s never over…
  8. Work has been busy, as I said…but I’m finding getting to the end of the day with a clear calendar rewarding, at least for now…  Every time I get to the end of the day and everything I needed to do is complete, I have a brief sense of “Ha!  I won!  Beat you, clock!”  So that works…  The 18th was my six-year anniversary with the company.  They were really nice to me about it.
  9. I’ve got a friend who’s getting married.  I don’t know if I’ll be able to make the wedding…but I’ve decided that if I do, I’m going to make it obvious that I shopped at the last minute.  They’re getting a 2-liter of Dr. Pepper and a sandwich.  One sandwich.  To symbolize that they are now one in marriage.  And also because I’m not walking out of a Mobil station with two sandwiches.

I think that’s it for now.  Here’s to two years of sobriety!  May it last for two more!  And then that’s it, I guess?  Huh…

Leave a Reply

