Five Things. (And hi there!)

Wow. So I haven’t blogged in over a month. What happened to me? Well…the fact of the matter is that a LOT happened and a lot of it has been pretty heavy. I didn’t want to write about that. I’m tired of that and I’m tired of giving that shit permanence it doesn’t deserve by posting it on the Internet.

So…

With my return to this stupid damn thing, I’ve decided to go a different direction. I’m going to take this opportunity to write about five things I’ve not yet written about here that I ENJOYED. I am often bad at realizing that I’m having a good time until it’s in hindsight…but these five things were pretty great now that I’m seeing them in 20/20. I’m going to try to do this in the order they happened, too.

THING THE FIRST:
Pixies Concert – February 6, 2014

I’ve been a Pixies fan since I first heard David Bowie’s cover of “Cactus” on his “Heathen” record. I just didn’t know that at the time. Sought out the original and fell in love with the “Surfer Rosa” record in particular. At that time, it seemed like the differences in the Pixies camp were irreconcilable and I’d never get to see them. Then came the reunion! And for 10 years they didn’t come to St. Louis… Then they did! But Kim Deal isn’t in the band. But I don’t care about that as much as some people seem to.

The show was great. They played just about all of my old favorites and treated us to a healthy dose of new stuff (which I really enjoyed). It was lots of fun and I got to cross off a bucket-list band.

THING THE SECOND:
Jason Isbell Concert – February 10, 2014

I’ve been raving about Jason’s “Southeastern” record since it came out (or shortly thereafter) and hearing those songs live was wonderful. Jason’s wife (Amanda Shires/Isbell) joined him on violin. Watching the two of them interact on stage was really beautiful. They’ve got a real Johnny & June thing going on. But without the amphetamines.

THING THREE–I’M TIRED OF MY PREVIOUS WORDING:
Dani’s Birthday Party – February 28, 2014

My friend Dani had a birthday on the 28th. (I checked, she’s not a leap-year baby.) She was nice enough to send me an invite. We hung out, played Charades, had food, and sang Happy Birthday. And it was very nice. Hung out with good people and got to mark my happiness that someone I like sprang into the earth several years ago. That was good.

THING FOUR:
Coffee With Brandon – March 27, 2014

“Enjoyed” seems almost the wrong word for this one. Brandon and Kaylene (Brandon’s wife) are two of my best friends and I love them desperately. After a series of events that I won’t go into, I needed to sit with Brandon and have a cup of coffee and yell and cry and listen and talk and whatever else. He made himself available for that and I don’t remember a more significant evening in my life within probably about a year leading up to that.

Folks…if there isn’t someone in your life whose eyes you’re comfortable looking into while tears stream out of yours and for whom you would do anything–ANYTHING–to stop tears from coming out of theirs, you’re missing out. I am profoundly grateful for Brandon and Kaylene. And even though I’ve always said you don’t get to pick your family, I’ve got to revise that a little bit because sometimes God assigns some to you. Brandon and Kaylene are in mine. (So is Brandon’s dad, Bruce.) God did that. Whatever else happens and whatever else changes in the years to come, I will always be grateful for that cup of coffee.

THING THE FIFTH–I DECIDED I LIKE TALKING LIKE THAT AGAIN:
Drive-By Truckers Concert – March 29, 2014

It was a good day in general. Anyone who’s met me in the last ten years has probably heard me babble about the Drive-By Truckers at least for a little bit.  I probably do a better job of proselytizing about them than I do about Jesus…which I should probably evaluate…but one post at a time!  DBT came to town this weekend, and I had my tickets long ago.  They did an acoustic set earlier in the day and I got to meet and shake hands with two of my heroes in Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley.  (Patterson’s hands are surprisingly soft, by the way.)  Then later that night, they put on a really good ROCK SHOW, touching on some of my favorite songs and providing a good time. Between that and getting to hang out with my brother and dad all day (and getting some J Gumbo’s with Dad), it was a good one.

Okay…so that does it for this post.  Hopefully the next one comes sooner.  I’ll do my best.

Current Listening:

  • Ben Folds – Assorted. – Seeing him in STL in April, and I’m very excited!
  • Drive-By Truckers – Decoration Day