I’m Out of Ideas and My Phone is Too…

Again, I have much I COULD write about…but instead I’m going to waste your time by presenting you with the list of music that is presently on my iPhone.  Check out the things you haven’t heard.

  • Aimee Mann – Fucking Smilers
  • …And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead – Worlds Apart
  • Antony and the Johnsons – “Hope There’s Someone”  (Single song only, and it never comes off of my phone because sometimes I need to know that someone else feels that…even if we don’t have much else in common…)
  • Ben Folds – Rockin’ the Suburbs
  • Ben Folds – The Best Imitation of Myself
  • Ben Folds & Nick Hornby – Lonely Avenue (Seriously…again…thanks, Kaylene.)
  • Big Star – Nothing Can Hurt Me
  • Bob Mould – District Line
  • Bob Mould – Silver Age
  • David Bowie – Bowie at the Beeb (A live thing that was really the first thing I listened to that made me love Bowie.)
  • Elvis Costello – The Return of the Spectacular Spinning Songbook
  • Frank Turner – England Keep My Bones
  • Frank Turner – Last Minutes and Lost Evenings
  • Frank Turner – Tape Deck Heart
  • Hatebreed – The Divinity of Purpose
  • Jason Isbell – Southeastern
  • Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – Live from Alabama
  • The Jesus and Mary Chain – 21 Singles
  • Lou Reed – Berlin
  • Lou Reed – Magic & Loss
  • Metric – Synthetica
  • Michael Penn – Palms and Runes, Tarot and Tea
  • Miles Davis – Relaxin’ with the Miles Davis Quintet
  • Miles Davis – ‘Round About Midnight
  • Miles Davis – Kind of Blue
  • Nine Inch Nails – The Fragile
  • Nine Inch Nails – And All that Could Have Been
  • Nine Inch Nails – Hesitation Marks
  • Norma Jean – Wrongdoers
  • Pixies – EP#1
  • Pixies – EP #2
  • Rufus Wainwright – All Days are Nights: Songs for Lulu
  • Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings – Give the People What They Want
  • Stone Sour – House of Gold and Bones (Parts 1 & 2)
  • Tegan & Sara – This Business of Art
  • Tegan & Sara – The Con
  • Tegan & Sara – Heartthrob

The stuff I’ve been listening to the most has been the Ben Folds (because it’s new to me), without a doubt.  I think I’ve played the “Lonely Avenue” record pretty much daily since I heard it the first time.  It’s just breath-taking.  Also been listening to Trail of Dead, Bob Mould, and Lou Reed’s “Magic & Loss” (which, though not exactly toe-tapping, might be the best work he ever did in his career).  The rest is stuff that’s either been regularly in the rotation recently, or that it’s just nice to have around in case I need it.

Leave a Reply

