Random church stuff mostly. It was going to be a lot simpler than that, but now it’s random church stuff.

Not much to say…  Except that I am considering the pointless affectation of writing with a fountain pen.

Anyway…here’s what I played/sang at church on Sunday.  (Feels weird to capitalize “Sunday” but not “church.”)

  • Because He Lives — But I skipped the verse about how nice it is to hold a newborn baby, since I find that fairly nerve-wracking.
  • Holy is the Lord
  • Create in Me a Clean Heart
  • Great is Thy Faithfulness — Which is very difficult to play well on the guitar, because it has lots of little moving-bits to it.  I think I sang it somewhat nervously as a result.
  • Jesus, All for Jesus — People clapped along, which forced me to stay on beat.  It was weird.
    T-Shirt Worn – Th’ Legendary Shack Shakers

Sermon theme was the beatitude of “Blessed are the pure at heart for they shall see God.”  Service went pretty well, I think.  People seemed to have energy, and be in the right frame of mind.  Enjoyed the company of the other church-people before and after the service.  Nice morning-into-afternoon.

…and today, I woke up late, felt like a train hit me, and spent most of my day at work tackling the desk of someone who’s out of town at the moment, ensuring myself a heavy day tomorrow.  I’m not complaining about that. Stating something that happened isn’t necessarily a criticism.  It’s just going to be a rough day or two of catching up, is all.

Here’s a link to a fairly renowned sermon that Dr. Tony Campolo gave once. Dr. Campolo is a personal hero of mine for his groundbreaking efforts to spark church unity, for his pulpit-defying stances on things like war, civil-rights, and homosexuality…and mostly because he once said this to a congregation of believers: “I have three things I’d like to say today. First, while you were sleeping last night, 30,000 kids died of starvation or diseases related to malnutrition. Second, most of you don’t give a shit. What’s worse is that you’re more upset with the fact that I said shit than the fact that 30,000 kids died last night.”  In the linked sermon, his message is essentially boiled down to the metaphor that, “It may be Friday now, but Sunday’s coming!”

…I feel that way about Mondays…but with a lot more dread.  Think it’s because I like Sunday mornings so much…  I’d take a Friday over a Monday, any day of the week.

2 thoughts on “Random church stuff mostly. It was going to be a lot simpler than that, but now it’s random church stuff.”

  1. this has nothing to do with your post – but I feel weird talking to you on Facebook because it seems like shouting across a crowded bar.

    I’ve been having lots of dreams lately with you in them – most of them are some variation of a Doctor Who episode where you’re the Doctor and I’m Amelia Pond. Weird. But entertaining.

    1. First of all, that’s the best description of Facebook I’ve ever seen.

      Second, you’d be a fantastic Amy, but if I were ever given the chance to be the Doctor, it’d just highlight all the reasons why I should NEVER be the Doctor.

      You: Doctor, shouldn’t we do something about the Daleks?
      Me: I don’t know…I’m pretty tired.
      ***Credits***

      …wait…does this make Ben Rory? Ben would make an excellent Rory. (And I definitely mean that as a compliment!)

Leave a Reply

