Serious Drinking

After penning the phrase “seriously drinking” last night, I started jotting down the beers I know I’ve had in my lifetime. It’s a pretty big list.  I haven’t enjoyed every one.  I haven’t had a second BOTTLE of every one, much less made it a “regular” in my purchasing.  And also, please bear in mind that this is over the course of at least a decade…so it’s not like I’m having a six-pack a day every day or anything like that.  (I’m not even having ONE a day, and frequently not even one a WEEK…so don’t go waving this list in my face and calling me an alcoholic, okay?)

Nevertheless…following is a list of the beers I know I’ve had over the course of my “serious drinking.”  Some of them are embarrassing.  Some of them are borderline pretentious.  But I’ve had each one, and I’m pretty sure I’m forgetting a few.  I’ve put an asterisk next to the ones I’ve enjoyed more frequently than others.  I’ve also put some parenthetical notes by a few of them, mostly noting if they’re no longer in production.  As you can see, I’m far from just being a loyal Bud man…in fact, if you’re serving me an A-B (or AB-Inbev, whatever) product, most of the time I’d prefer that you just serve me water.  Because hey, when you’ve had this many beers, you know what you like.

Enjoy!  (List is alphanetical.  Thanks a bunch “sort” button in Microsoft Excel!)

  1. Abita Amber Ale*
  2. Abita Restoration Ale (No longer in production. Limited time to benefit New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina.)
  3. Abita Turbodog
  4. AmberBock*
  5. Bass
  6. Beamish*
  7. Bellhaven Pub Ale*
  8. Bell’s Amber Ale
  9. Bell’s Java Stout
  10. Bell’s Special Double Cream Stout
  11. Boddington’s Pub Ale*
  12. Breckenridge Vanilla Porter
  13. Bud Light
  14. Bud Select
  15. Budweiser
  16. Falstaff (No longer in production.)
  17. Fat Tire
  18. Foster’s Lager
  19. Guinness 250 (No longer in production.)
  20. Guinness Black Lager
  21. Guinness Draught*
  22. Guinness Stout*
  23. Harp
  24. Heineken*
  25. Killians Irish Red*
  26. Leinenkugel’s Red Lager
  27. Lemp (Possibly no longer in production? Haven’t seen it in a while.)
  28. Mackeson Triple XXX Stout*
  29. Michelob
  30. Miller Lite
  31. Murphy’s Irish Red
  32. Murphy’s Irish Stout
  33. New Glarus Fat Squirrel Nut Brown Ale (Regional.)
  34. Newcastle Brown Ale*
  35. O’Dell 5 Barrel Pale Ale
  36. O’Dell 90 Shilling*
  37. O’Dell Cutthroat Porter*
  38. O’Dell Easy Street Wheat
  39. O’Dell Isolation Ale* (This is one of my all-time favorite beers.  Easily in my top three.)
  40. O’Dell Levity Amber Ale
  41. O’Dell Red Ale
  42. Pabst Blue Ribbon* (Guilty pleasure.  Don’t judge me.)
  43. Red Stripe* (Regularly purchased by a friend during band practices a couple of years ago.)
  44. Sam Adams Boston Lager*
  45. Sam Adams Imperial Stout
  46. Sam Adams Irish Red
  47. Sam Adams Winter Brew
  48. Schlafly Coffee Stout
  49. Schlafly Double Hopped APA
  50. Schlafly Hefeweizen
  51. Schlafly Imperial Stout
  52. Schlafly Kolsch
  53. Schlafly Oatmeal Stout
  54. Schlafly Pale Ale*
  55. Schlafly Pilsner
  56. Sierra Nevada Pale Ale
  57. Smithwicks*
  58. St. Peter’s Cream Stout
  59. Stone Pale Ale
  60. Wexford Irish Cream Ale*
  61. Young’s Double Chocolate Stout*

I should really start a beer-blog.  Pretty sure I could get my brother and my friend Rick to contribute to it occasionally too…  Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

