Books are useless! I only ever read one book, “To Kill A Mockingbird,” and it gave me absolutely no insight on how to kill mockingbirds! Sure it taught me not to judge a man by the color of his skin…but what good does *that* do me?

(Post title is a Homer Simpson quote.)

I don’t know man…I just haven’t been very focused lately and the blog’s suffered for it. So for the sake of keeping this thing going, here’s another random post…

  1. I didn’t lead worship at church this week, but I did last week…and I forgot to post the song list, like I said a while back I would be doing… I think I forgot about it because I was a little disappointed in my performance that day.  It’s a boomy room to begin with and I mixed it all wrong, so it was extra-boomy…that’s the problem with being your own engineer.  Anyway, it worked out okay, and it was better this week…so now that I’m remembering it, this is what I played on 9/18/11:
    • Nothing But the Blood
    • Wonderful Words of Life
    • I’ll Fly Away
    • How Deep the Father’s Love for Us
  2. I’ve been doing some new stuff at work the past couple weeks, and I am having mixed emotions on how I’m doing at it.  Tomorrow may be a good test of my instincts, as I’ve got a couple of things on my calendar that are “let’s see how they work out” type things.  The results will either be just fine or a gigantic pain in the ass for all involved.  I’m hoping for the former, of course.  I like my job, and more than that I like being good at my job…so I hope I’m still good at it, come tomorrow morning.  Fingers crossed.
  3. I think there’s going to be progress on my kitchen this week.  Fingers crossed on that as well.
  4. I’ve had a lot of Penn Station in the past week.  I like it…but man am I full.
  5. Thanks to anyone and everyone who heeded my request to keep my friend Jimmi in your thoughts last week during her son’s funeral.  I won’t go into detail because despite what the local news stations may think, it’s no one’s damned business…but it was a difficult, awful, kind of disturbing situation.  Jimmi’s coming through it like a champ, and I think the funeral was therapeutic for all involved, even if it was occasionally uncomfortable.
  6. Caught up on Doctor Who this weekend.  I was a week behind because of the super-awesome Foo Fighters concert last week.  This has been an intense, weird, fun season.  I’ve enjoyed it a lot.  Next week is the season finale, and I hope we get all the answers we need!  I love this freaking show.
  7. I recently realized that on the route I take to work every week, I can see the Arch in the distance.  I never realized it before, due to that dumbass building some jerk built in front of it a while back…but if you look, it’s there behind it.  I get to see the biggest landmark in St. Louis every day, if I remember it’s there.  And that’s kind of awesome.
  8. I bought a six-pack of Guinness Black Lager.  I’ve been a Guinness fan ever since I started seriously drinking.  (That may be the most depressing sentence I’ve ever written in my life…  “Seriously” drinking?)  I was excited to hear that they were putting out a lager in the US, and a dark one at that.  I snapped up a pack as soon as I saw it.  I got it home and opened it, expecting to have a new favorite lager.  And…  Not quite.  It’s a GOOD lager, but it’s ONLY a good one.  It tastes like a fizzy  Guinness…like someone poured Club Soda and barley into a Guinness Stout.  It’s an obvious attempt to sell more of the Guinness name in the United States…and it’s a big disappointment, if you were expecting more than that.  I guess it’s a good introduction if you’ve always wondered about Guinness but are gun-shy about it…but if you’re already a Guinness fan, pass it by and pick up a Draught or Stout.  Preferably a Stout.
  9. Due to a series of mishaps with my weekend, I’m not going to get a podcast recorded before bedtime.  I may take some time to record one during the week…but if not, my apologies to the Empty Checking faithful (if any).
  10. Got a nice complement at church about the New Year’s Eve project I put on the website for ABSOLUTELY FREE a while back.  That was cool.  I re-listened to it afterward, and good news!  I still stand by it.  🙂  Check it out if you somehow haven’t over the past couple of years.
  11. I think the change in the weather has been affecting/effecting/iffecting/offecting/uffecting/and-sometimes-yffecting me this week.  Not so long ago, St. Louis was suffering a heat-wave (100-degree+ for weeks).  Lately, it’s been getting up to only about 70-75-degrees.  (I can’t figure out how to make the “degrees” sign in Windows.  How is that not a button on the keyboard, but “~” is?)  I love autumn, and I love this kind of weather, but it’s a pretty major drop in a short time period…and I’ve been feeling it in my joints and sinuses.  Also, I am 76 years old.
  12. Note to self: Buy wine.  Delicious wine.

…and that seems as good a thought to end on as any.  I swear I’ll try to write more.  It’s just been boring lately.

————

Quotable Quotes:

  • My friend Doug: “Well, it was good to see you.  See you at the next funeral.”
  • Lucas (from church): “It’s great to see you brother! When was the last time you sinned?”
  • Anthony Jeselnik (comedian): “The only reason [Charlie Sheen] got on TV in the first place is because God hates Michael J. Fox.”
Leave a Reply

