In which I feel good about transvestism…

At my church today, a few moments before the service, a friend pointed out to me that a man with a full beard was wearing a dress.  Not a kilt.  Not one of those yoga-things.  A full-on dress, complete with a tacky red purse.  And all I could think was, “Then we’re the right kind of church.”  I’m very glad to be in a church where people with what many would call “alternative lifestyles” can walk into one of our services and feel comfortable.  (Not that I’m necessarily saying we all would condone it, you understand.)  I don’t think I’ve ever been involved with a church where that would have been anything other than shunned before.  The guy even felt comfortable enough during one of the “question/answer” moments in our service to share his thoughts.

That. Is. Awesome.

I’m not going to say that I didn’t have a brief moment of thinking, “Well that’s an odd choice…”  But thankfully, it was quickly squashed by my Humanism kicking in and saying, “It’s the choice he made…and he’s HERE, so God bless him.”  Thankfully most of the rest of the church seemed to have the same reaction.

Also, I led worship again today.  I’m leading every other week at the moment, though the plan is to find two more people and have a different person leading each week (so we’d each be once a month), which sounds just about right to me.  Can’t let it get boring or become too “comfortable.”

I’ve decided that I’m going to post the song-lists that I play after the services each time I lead…mostly for my own record/fun, but also so you can all track how massively out of touch I am with current worship music and offer me suggestions for change.  So here are the lists for the two times I’ve led so far.

Sunday August 7, 2011:

  1. Nothing But the Blood
  2. It is Well With My Soul
  3. Praise Adonai
  4. What a Friend we have in Jesus

Sunday August 21, 2011:

  1. I Saw the Light
  2. You’re Worthy of My Praise
  3. Holy is the Lord
  4. Holy, Holy, Holy
  5. Holy and Anointed One
  6. O How I Love Jesus
2 thoughts on “In which I feel good about transvestism…”

  1. Well, you can call me out of touch too . . . It is Well with my Soul has always been my favorite! I always loved the way you led that song, Derek and am glad you have opportunity to do so now.

    1. Thanks, Rachel! Good to hear from you.

      And yeah, I love that song. I’m finding myself defaulting to a lot of the older hymns, just bacause they don’t go out of style and are very adaptable to different styles. mostly, I’m just enjoying doing this stuff again!

Leave a Reply

