I didn’t have to pee when I started writing this post, but I do now.

Let’s talk about nothing!

  1. So there seems to be some to-do about the last space shuttle deal…  It’s sad for those at NASA whose days are likely to be filled with nothing to do soon…but honestly, I haven’t ever really understood why space exploration is supposed to be so important.  I mean, yeah, we need satellites out there for various purposes—most importantly making sure we know if something’s about to smack into the Earth at a fast speed…but other than that…what’s the point?  What are we looking for?  What are we exploring?  With our country and world in the state they’re in, it seems to me like poking around the big, empty void of space can take a backseat.  But apparently I’m wrong…so right on.
  2. I’m an avid reader of Cracked.com.  They provide good reads that are informative and funny.  And today, I read one that has quite probably the best metaphor I’ve ever read in it.  (Warning…this is…kinda blue.)  I’m not sure anyone ever needs to write anything else after reading the two sentences I’m about to quote.  The article title was “5 Crucial Lessons Learned by Watching Kids Play Video Games” and these were the article’s OPENING two sentences:  “Watching my kids play video games is like watching a virgin fumble around with his first prostitute. You just want to put down the camera, strap on your dildo hat and say, ‘No, look, you do it like this.'”  I haven’t laughed that much all week.  Thanks for being awesome, Cracked!
  3. U2 is playing in St. Louis on Sunday (as my brother pointed out in the comments), and I’ll be there!  I’m excited.  Over the years, I’ve waffled back and forth on how much I like U2.  Sometimes I’ve thought they were genius.  Sometimes garbage.  As much as Zooropa and Pop were awful mistakes, I’ve liked their last three records a lot (though the new one is a little…odd in places…), so I feel good about it.  Plus it’s hard to argue with the strength of their back catalogue (“With ot Without You” notwithstanding).  It’s hard not to love songs like “Where the Streets Have No Name,” “I Will Follow,” and “Sweetest Thing.”  (And a host of others.)  Looking at the recent setlists, they look like they’re doing a lot of stuff I’ll like, so it should be fun.  Plus, it’s my brother’s birthday-show this year, and everybody’s going, so that’ll be cool.
  4. My stomach has been weird today.  I blame the roast beef.
  5. The Two Hangmen EP nears completion.  I’ve got 50 CDs printed on and burned.  Covers are moving slowly, just due to the time it takes to construct the things…but we’re very close.  And Dave reminded me last night that we’re supposed to be putting it on iTunes, too…so I’ll have to start the process there soon, I guess.  I’ll keep you posted.
  6. So Harry Potter “ended” in the theatres this week.  And yet…I still don’t care.
  7. My kitchen is progressing, but not really so you’d know it.  It’s mainly been electrical and stuff like that this week, so there’s nothing visually stunning to brag about.  Some time very soon, I need to choose a light fixture.  For some reason I hate that part.  Nothing just looks like a freaking light fixture anymore.  They’re all modern and trendy, or retro and trendy…I just want a light, y’know?
  8. Fair warning…  Next time I blog, I will have gotten a haircut.  It’s time…it’s way longer than I intended, so we’ve gotta go short again.
  9. Jake Austin and the City limits released a CD today.  I don’t have it yet, but I’ve heard previews, and they’re the kind of band I’m pissed off that I’m not in…so go check them out, and congrats to Jake, et al.

…and I think that’ll do it for now.  Doctor Who reruns are on…and I like watching that.  So I’m going to do that now.  Hope you’re doing something you like too.

2 thoughts on “I didn’t have to pee when I started writing this post, but I do now.”

Leave a Reply

