A few more things…

Thought of more stuff I wanted to mention in my last post, but failed to.  So here we go again…

  1. I’ve made what is likely to be the final update to the Blue Tattoo website.  Kind of a bummer.  It’s basically just a break-up announcement and a link to the old demo…but if you want to see it, you probably should’ve clicked on it a couple of sentences ago.
  2. On the other hand…very much looking forward to telling you more about “Two Hangmen” in the near future.  🙂
  3. I’m a few days late on this…  But from the “Thought They Were Already Dead” file, Barbara Billingsley passed away this week.  She was 94.  Rest in peace, you jiiiiiive turkey.  (What?  Watch “Airplane” sometime!)
  4. I read an interesting quote on a friend’s Facebook wall.  Gay activist Hadi Hussain wrote the following, referring to why he chooses not to behave “stereotypically” in his practice of the gay lifestyle.  My friend on Facebook (who is female) said something to the effect of “I’m shocked to find someone who gets it!”  Hussain writes: “For me it’s just like mimicking the sexual politics of heteronormative [not a real word! – db] society which puts men in the powerful position of having the right to penetrate and women in a passive role, available for penetration.”  Now…I’m not saying he’s right or wrong.  But I must say that I find it HIGHLY ironic that a gay man has chosen to refer to penetration as a negative thing.
  5.  That leads me to the following…  If you’ve got a Facebook page, you’ve probably been subjected to the occasional (if not all-too-frequent) “inspirational” quote from one of your friends.  Usually some well-meaning, overly emotional soul who thinks they’re enlightening the rest of the world with thoughts they did not themselves pen posts some quote from Helen Keller or Albert Einstein or C. S. Lewis that is supposed to inspire and uplift.  I find it sickening.  Usually the “inspirational” quotes are so filled with bullshit and optimism that doesn’t work in the real world that you can almost SMELL the saccharin.  So…as a reaction to that, I am going to start taking some of these quotes and I’ll offer a critique of them here.  (I will try not to use anything my friends personally wrote, and I do not intend to demean them personally.)  I’m going to call that segment “Facebullshit.”  The above was entry #1.  Expect #2 (hee hee…poop!) shortly.
  6. Finished my “Lost” rewatch.  Main thing I found interesting about it is that in hindsight of knowing how the story ends, there are a lot of things I didn’t like at the time that I like a lot better now.  (IE – The episode they aired that was just the back-story of Jacob and his brother.  At the time, it irritated me, especially because it was RIGHT BEFORE the finale and really felt like it was a brick wall in the way of the plot.  But this time, I liked it.)  Funny how knowing the ending in advance changed some things…  But I still think Jin should’ve died when the freighter exploded in Season 4.  That still sucked.
  7. I had hoped to get a bunch of work done on the house this weekend.  (Still haven’t bought drapes…sigh…)  Unfortunately, my back problems have sidelined me for a little bit.  No painting…no lifting…  I’m not even taking my briefcase to work for a day or two, just to keep from lifting the extra weight.  (Plus, I rarely use it at the office, to be honest with you.)  Oh well.  Maybe NEXT week.

And that’s all for now.  I’m realizing now that this is going up on the same day as the last one, since I wrote it in the early a.m. hours, and I’m writing this one at 10 at night.  Ehh…in my mind, it was two days…so whatever.  It’s not my fault that YOU sleep during weird hours!  🙂

————

Current Reading:

  • Joe Hill’s “Locke & Key” – Volume 2: Head Games
Leave a Reply

