Only Thing I’ll Say About It…

I’ve been trying to be open-minded about the passing of the “Proposition C” thing that my home state—the only state I’ve EVER called home—passed yesterday, but I’m finding it difficult. 

As many of the long-time readers know, I’ve been trying to be more kind about my political views for the past couple of years than I was during most of the Bush Years (at least publically, amongst those of mixed political views).  Apart from knowing how much it sucks to be in the (shockingly vast) minority—in this case, again—I still believe in the basic concept that fighting and name-calling are not the answer to this country’s political woes.  I believe that.  Sometimes I have to get drunk first…but I believe that.

But…

I am genuinely worried about the precedent that has been set by the passing of Prop C.  Not only the political precedent.  (Though seriously, it’s a BAD idea for a state to choose to go AGAINST federal law.  That’s pretty much how the Civil War started.  Only this war won’t be about black and white, it’ll be about red and blue…and/or whose pocketbook is fuller.)  Far more than that, I worry about what it says about us as people.

And I worry for our souls.

The base that passed Prop C is typically thought of as religious.  Typically thought of as Christian.  I find it horrendous that Christians so often forget portions of the Bible when it suits their politics.  Especially the portions that paint a very specific picture of the type of person that gets into Heaven.  I would like to remind you, Church, of a part of the New Testament that many people believe to be in the top-ten of important passages.  (And I’m one of them.)

Matthew 25: 31-46: The Sheep and the Goats (Emphasis added)

“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his throne in heavenly glory. All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’

“Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’

“They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?

“He will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

“Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”

I say this after having worked in the Church.  I say this after having worked for a Bible College.  I say this as someone so hurt by Christian (sic) politics that I am unlikely to work in a church or parachurch organization ever again.  I say this knowing the pain of having someone manipulate scripture and politics into such a mangled form that they tell a God-fearing, Christ-loving Democrat (me) that they’re going to go to Hell for voting for Barack Hussein Obama.  I say this with all due respect and all due gravity, because I do not believe that it is in any way a political issue, but an issue of the heart, mind, and soul.

State of Missouri…America…  I fear that we are damned.

Comments are closed, folks.  Any arguments that could be made would be wasted on me anyway.  Unfortunately, this is one of those situations where my integrity and my faith only allow me to be closed-minded. I am deeply grieved for any whom that may offend.

