Harvey Pekar is Dead and that Sucks

I’m going to do a fuller blog post about it later…but Harvey Pekar died today at the age of 70.  That sucks.

For those of you who are saying, “Who the hell is Harvey Pekar?” 

  1. You’re not alone.
  2. That’s no excuse.
  3. Go out and buy a copy of “American Splendor” in either movie or comic book form (the movie’s a GREAT starting point).

Following are the lyrics to the song “American Splendor” by Eytan Mirsky.  It’s a great song, and it’s featured prominently in the movie.  I DO NOT own the copyright and I DID NOT write any portion of it.  You can buy it here in glorious CD format or lousy stupid MP3 format.

AMERICAN SPLENDOR – Eytan Mirsky

I THOUGHT THAT I COULD BE SOMEBODY
IT LOOKS LIKE I WAS WRONG
I THOUGHT THAT I COULD MAKE MY MARK, BUT
I’M AFRAID I’VE WAITED MUCH TOO LONG, NOW

WHERE IS MY AMERICAN SPLENDOR
IN A WORLD THAT’S CLOUDY AND GRAY
WHERE LIFE KEEPS PASSING BY ME
DAY BY DAY?

THEY TOLD ME I SHOULD GRIN AND BEAR IT
WHENEVER LIFE GETS ROUGH
THEY TOLD ME I SHOULD SIT IN SILENCE
BUT NOW I GUESS I’VE HAD ENOUGH, AND

WHERE IS MY AMERICAN SPLENDOR
IN A WORLD THAT’S CLOUDY AND GRAY
WHERE LIFE KEEPS PASSING BY ME
DAY BY DAY?

I’M NO HERO, JUST A GUY
WHO WAS BORN TO LIVE, SUFFER AND DIE
I’M A MAN, JUST LIKE YOU
BUT I’LL SHOUT AT THE TOP OF MY VOICE
‘TILL MY POINT GETS THROUGH

I THOUGHT THAT LIFE WAS ONE LONG STRUGGLE
IT LOOKS LIKE I WAS RIGHT
I KNOW I’LL NEVER WIN THIS WAR, BUT
I WON’T GIVE UP WITHOUT A FIGHT, AND

WHERE IS MY AMERICAN SPLENDOR
IN A WORLD THAT’S CLOUDY AND GRAY
WHERE LIFE KEEPS PASSING BY ME
DAY BY DAY?

Say hi to Vonnegut, Salinger, and McCourt for me, Harv.

One thought on “Harvey Pekar is Dead and that Sucks”

Leave a Reply

