My Favorite Burgers in St. Louis

Okay.  I like to eat.  I like to eat burgers.  I eat a LOT of burgers.  Occasionally, I’ll talk about burgers (usually with other guys—ladies don’t seem as interested, for some reason) and someone will ask me what my favorite burger in St. Louis is.  So…I’m putting it on my blog.  I was going to do a top-five…but there are seven I want to talk about…so let’s go.  Screw McDonald’s and Burger King and all those conveyor belt places (though I certainly eat those, too)…these are some of the best burgers you’ll get within a reasonable amount of time from where I live.  (I know I’m probably not listing someone’s favorite…sorry.  Either I haven’t had it yet, or maybe it’s in my top 10, but not my top 5…err…7.)  🙂

7. White Barn

White Barn has long been a St. Louis “hangover” staple.  It’s kind of car-hop-ish in that you can’t go into the place and sit down to eat—you either grab a picnic table or take it home.  A lot of people declare White Barn to be the best burger they’ve ever had…and although I like it, I think people are mostly just overjoyed at the price.  Earlier today, I got a burger, fries, and a can of cream soda for like $4.50.  That’s pretty cool.

The burgers are thick–like something you’d pull off of your own grill.  That’s pretty cool, too.  They talk about the meat being “spiced” their way…but I’ve never tasted any spices…  It may be that I’ve killed all of the heat sensors in my mouth over the years with hot wings and chilli…but all I’m tasting is meat.  Forunately, the meat is good.

Recently, White Barn opened up a new location close to my house.  Honestly, it tastes about the same, but somehow it just doesn’t match up to the original location.  Probably because they take a LOOOOOONG time to get you your food and they just don’t have the same aesthetic charm as the old place (which is actually shaped like a barn…whereas this one clearly used to be a Rally’s).

In all…worth the money.  Worth the trip to the original location.  Not worth the wait at the new one…and for about a buck and a half more, you can get a burger with a little more flavor at…

6. J&A’s

Best burger (and fries) you’re going to get for $6.  They differ from White Barn in that they’re an actual bar and grill.  Tables and everything.  They also differ in that there is NOTHING home-made-feeling about this burger—which is probably about 80% of White Barn’s charm.  J&A’s provides a sloppy, greasy, filthy, heart-clogging, made-from-a-patty-we-just-thawed burger.  It should suck…but it doesn’t.

For some reason this one is quickly rising up my scale.  It’s definitely got more flavor than a White Barn burger (and even some that are higher up on the list), even though it’s got a lot less meat.  I actually taste spice in this one…and with a little Tabasco, you’ve got a seriously good burger…this time for $6.

5. Culpepper’s Bison Burger

Yeah…it’s a chain.  I’m surprized too.  But the bison burger is REALLY good…when you get a good one.  Sometimes, you’ll get one that is overdone or…well…just plain weird…  But when they do a GOOD one, it’s one of the best chain-burgers out there.  There’s something extra flavorful about bison that you just don’t get outta Angus.  Done right, it’s still a little juicy, but not so much that it’ll get on your shirt.  They serve it with a rice pilaf…but I recommend substituting steak fries…and while you’re at it, get some wings.  Probably my favorite wings in St. Louis…but that’s a whole other post.

4. Culver’s Butter Burger

What?!?  Another chain?!?  This time one that’s all over the country (or at least midwest)?!?  Yeah.  Sorry…but that’s a great burger.  It feels a little more toward the mass-produced end, yet doesn’t quite drift into “fast food” crappiness.  Plus, it’s got a really unique taste.  You don’t get a butter-burger everywhere you go.  In fact, I’ve only ever had one at Culver’s.  (I can only speak for the “original” butter burger by the way…never had any of the others.)  The thing is, I’ve been to Culver’s during different times of day, and at different locations and they always deliver the same quality—which speaks VERY well of the chain.  They manage to feel like your hometown burger joint, but they’re nationwide.  That’s pretty impressive.

3. Five Guys

Okay…this one’s a little controversial.  There are burgers below this one on the list that are actually a little bit better.  If you go to Five Guys, you’ll get a burger made from a patty with ingredients out of a jar.  Nothing too special.  But where they SHINE is in their customization.  You can tailor-make a burger to your mood in ways that other places just don’t offer.  (White Barn doesn’t even offer LETTUCE, for God’s sake!) 

Here’s your list of toppings: Mayo, Relish, Onions, Lettuce, Pickles, Tomatoes, Grilled Onions, Grilled Mushrooms, Ketchup, Mustard, Jalapeno Peppers, Green Peppers, A-1 Sauce, Bar-B-Q Sauce, Hot Sauce.  You can build QUITE a taste out of that (I really dig the mushrooms and green peppers together).  Not many other places in the area do that.  Plus, their fries are really good, and you get a buttload of them…like WAY more than you’ll ever need. 

So it’s not just the meat that earns you a place in my heart (…ladies…). 

Ahem.  Sorry.

2. Fast Eddie’s Fat Eddie Burger

I know what you’re thinking…  Yes, it’s an area cliché.  Yes, it’s a grease-trap of a burger.  Yes, you have to listen to really TERRIBLE cover bands while you eat…and the only toppings you can get are cheese, ketchup, mustard, and whatever else you can find and hand-apply around the place.  But, it’s a thick, juicy, shockingly good burger.  And it’s $1.  Let me put periods after every word and italicize them, in order to emphasize those words.  It’s. One. Dollar.  (There…that should do it.)  You CAN NOT beat that price, and it’s a pretty freaking good burger, too.  I know.  I’ve eaten a LOT of these.  (Though, if I’m honest, I much prefer their kabobs to the burgers…but nonetheless…)

1. Blueberry Hill’s 7oz Burger

Hands down, my FAVORITE burger in St. Louis.  For some reason, though, it’s better at night when table service has closed and they’re just whipping them out of the window at you as fast as they can.  I recommend the full complement of lettuce, tomato, onions, pickles, and cheese.  Then eat that thing.  You’ll thank me.  (Seriously…people have thanked me.  Which is kind of weird, because it’s not like I made it or anything…)  It has the “home-made” feel…no pre-made patties here.  I don’t know what they do to spice it or cook it…or if they just get really awesome cows…but it’s got a flavor like no other burger I’ve had in town.  I recommend that you order it medium.

…so there you go.  Order one of those up soon and think of me while you’re eating it.  And I’ll think of you, too.  It’ll be weird…but we’ll get through it.

————

Current Listening:

  • The Hold Steady – “Heaven is Whenever” — Since the last time we spoke about it, I’ve fallen in love with this record.  I said before that it’ll definitely make my top 10 of the year…but barring any unforeseen releases…it’ll definitely be in the top FIVE.
7 thoughts on “My Favorite Burgers in St. Louis”

  1. Stellar list, D. Never had White Barn or J&A’s so will have to check’em out next time I’m in town (July as it happens).

    Oh, Blueberry Hill burger, so tasty.

    1. If you’ve only got time for one, I’d recommend White Barn, just because their menu has greater variety and the sides are really good. (I recommend the fried okra.) J&As has a cool bar and grill thing going on…but everyone who’s lived here should really try White Barn at some point—even though it’s not in my top five. 🙂

    1. Thanks for the comment (sorry it took me a while to find it!). I am unsure of the specific address of the other one. It’s in Florissant, though, I think in the 63031 zip code. It’s on N. Lindbergh/Hwy 67, near Waterford, right by a post office–and if you get the Barnes and Noble, you’ve gone a little too far. Hopefully that’ll at least get you close.

      Personally, I do think the Chambers location is a little bit better though. I’m not sure why…probably just because they’ve been doing it longer. 🙂

  2. Thanks. I just recently found out about them. I live in KC and come over about once a month. I’ve put in it my gps and hope to try it in a few weeks.

  3. Sorry, but you missed the best burgers in St. Louis, in my opinion. You don’t need to go anywhere but Manchester Road, for the finest!!!

    Michael’s Bar and Grill (7101 Manchester Ave, St Louis, MO 63143-2533)

    Newstead Tower Public House (4353 Manchester Avenue, Saint Louis)

    Trainwreck Saloon (9243 Manchester Rd, Saint Louis – (314) 962-8148)

    Carl’s Drive-In (9243 Manchester Rd, Saint Louis – (314) 962-8148)

    Other notables:

    Seamus McDaniel’s (1208 Tamm Ave, St Louis, MO 63139-3443)

    Cardwell’s (8100 Maryland Ave, St Louis, MO 63105-3721)

    I do like Blueberry Hill’s burger…that’s more my style, and if it is yours, you’ve missed many of the best…Michael’s!

    1. Thanks for the list! Haven’t tried a few of those (and I can’t believe I didn’t mention the Trainwreck in the first place!). Hope to stop by a few soon.

      I’ve been to Michael’s, but I don’t really recall it. Kinda been meaning to go back, but haven’t had the opportunity. I remember basically enjoying the burger, but being in a little bit of a hurry and not being able to sit and think about what I was eating. It was a utilitarian meal, if you will. I’ll give that another shot soon, since someone with a shared passion speaks so well of it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

