Dio Has Rocked for a Long, Long Time

Rest in peace, Ronnie James Dio.

I’m not a Dio fan.  In fact, many of you may have heard me negatively review the show of his that I saw (on a triple-bill with Maiden and Motorhead…Dio got the best response, but frankly, I thought Maiden did a WAY better set).  Many may remember me negatively reviewing his performance on Queensryche’s (TERRIBLE) sequel to “Operation: Mindcrime” a couple of years ago.  Most of the people who’ve sat and talked metal with me know that, when it comes to Dio, I just didn’t care very much.

But…

The man revolutionized metal.  Do a few less-than-stellar moments from what turned out to be the end-years of his career mean that I don’t respect what he did?  Certainly not.  We owe Dio a LOT of credit for what happened in metal, thanks to his work with acts like Rainbow and Black Sabbath.  If not for Dio, the metal world would be very, very different…and probably nowhere near as good.

So.  Thanks, Ronnie.  While you’re over there on the other side, kicking the devil’s ass…give him one for me…

(Does this mean Tenacious D really IS taking over now???)

Leave a Reply

