Glam-Tastic!

I think I have the Spyware thing under control.  So let’s blog…

 

I’ve been on kind of a glam-rock kick.  It started out as a David Bowie kick, then I listened to a little Queen…and then I started playing the “Let’s Name all the Glam Bands” game at the office.  (Christine’s really good at that, incidentally…the rest of the office has pretty much ignored us.)  Came up with a decent list.  Made a playlist on my iPod.  It’s got a few nods to stuff from after the glam period (approx 1970-1978/79) that I feel pays it at least decent homage without just being straight new-age or 80s pop.  There are also some questionable entries from artists who are/were glam, but maybe the song I chose isn’t very glam…  But in all, it’s a decent list.  I loaded up a playlist, then hit “random” and this is the list the iPod made for me.  Some odd choices, but in all, I think that for once this is something that Apple produced that didn’t need any significant modification (sorry, iPadders!).  All I did was move the Alice song to the top and the Rufus song to the bottom.

 

So here’s the list.  Hope you enjoy it and maybe check out a few of the artists you don’t know.

 

Derek’s Glam-Tastic Playlist:

  1. Be My Lover – Alice Cooper
  2. Rebel Rebel – David Bowie
  3. Don’t Stop Me Now – Queen
  4. Mother of Pearl – Roxy Music
  5. Ziggy Stardust – David Bowie
  6. Walk on the Wildside – Lou Reed
  7. I’m the Leader of the Gang – Gary Glitter*
  8. All the Young Dudes – Mott the Hoople
  9. Wake Up – The Arcade Fire
  10. The Passenger – Iggy Pop
  11. The Time Warp – Richard O’Brien/Rocky Horror Picture Show cast
  12. Between My Legs – Rufus Wainwright
  13. The Ballroom Blitz – Sweet
  14. Under Pressure – Queen and David Bowie
  15. That’s Not My Name – The Ting Tings
  16. Love is the Drug – Roxy Music
  17. Under My Wheels – Alice Cooper
  18. Who Loves the Sun – Velvet Underground
  19. Third Uncle – Brian Eno
  20. Now I’m Here – Queen
  21. Sweet Transvestite – Tim Curry/Rocky Horror Picture Show cast
  22. Bang a Gong (Get it On) – T. Rex
  23. Personality Crisis – New York Dolls
  24. Don’t Bring Me Down – Electric Light Orchestra
  25. Shut Up and Let Me Go – The Ting Tings
  26. Lust for Life – Iggy Pop
  27. Run Run Away – Slade
  28. Sweet Jane – Velvet Underground
  29. Perfect Day – Lou Reed
  30. Grey Gardens – Rufus Wainwright

 

* – I would be a hypocrite, considering my anti-Michael Jackson stance, if I didn’t point out that Gary Glitter is a piece of crap who has been imprisoned in the not too distant past for having sex with young girls in Vietnam.  (They were 10 and 11, respectively…it’s not like they TOLD him they were 18 and he couldn’t tell the difference, ala Rob Lowe.  This guy intentionally had sex with pre-teens and went to prison for it.)  As much as that sucks, I’ll give him credit for having written a good song in “Leader of the Gang,” just like I’ve given Jackson credit for “Thriller.”  (Though, to be fair, Jackson never went to jail for his alleged misdeeds…)  Anyway, thought it was necessary to post this.  Gary Glitter’s a terrible person.  Please don’t obtain his records in any way that will put money in his pocket.  And I’m including going to football games and “Hey”-ing along to “Rock and Roll Part 2” in that.  Sorry NFL.  You’re giving royalty checks to a pedophile every time you play that on the air…people should really write letters…but let’s move on.

  

So there you go.  Like I said…couple of weird choices.  ELO might not belong on there…and I’m aware that I didn’t put on any 70s-era Elton John or Marc Bolan or Mud…and maybe I should’ve also included “Looking for a Kiss” by the New York Dolls…  But it is what it is…and it’s pretty glam-tastic.  🙂

————

Quotable quote:

  • “Uncle Derek, where are you?!?”  My niece, Tessa…screamed in the hope that I would continue playing with her, thereby saving her from a bath.  She was REAL pissed off at Dave and Valerie for making her get ready for bed instead of playing with me.  And that’s why it’s rocks to be the Uncle.
Leave a Reply

