“Wrecked?” More like “Totaled”

I mentioned yesterday that the Blue Tattoo record (to have been titled “Wrecked”) looked to be in serious doubt.  Well…after a very long discussion tonight, I can make it official.  The record will not be happening.

 

I’m not going to get into the “whys” or “whos.”  That’s band business and as much as it depends on me, I’m not going to air our laundry in public.  I will say that I’m not happy about it and if you’ve read my blog over the past year, you know that this certainly wasn’t my first choice and how massive a disappointment and shock this is for me…but it’s how things are.  No record…even though most of it’s already recorded.

 

Just to be absolutely clear about it, we’re STILL A BAND.  We’re not breaking up or anything like that.  In fact, based on discussion tonight, we should have a couple of us working pretty hard on getting some gigs on the calendar soon.  We’re talking about what to do with the material we have recorded…we’re definitely doing a new demo with a few of the songs (in order to better present our sound to clubs vs. the “Logan County” EP) and that may or may not be made available on CD-Rs at the gigs—no final decision on that yet (I think…I don’t know…I got sleepy toward the end and missed some stuff). 

 

Who knows?  Maybe the stars will align and we’ll get a CD together sooner or later…but not now.  I certainly hope there’s a finished product in our future.  I don’t really see the point of being in a band without putting out a record (to have as a keepsake if nothing else)…  I’m kind of bummed about it and I feel like I lost a LOT of my life over the past year on working toward a CD that isn’t going to happen…but it’s spilled milk at this point…so this post is probably the most I’m going to publically cry about it.

 

Anyway…I mostly just wanted to say that I’m sorry to my friends/blog readers/fans (if any) who were expecting to buy a CD soon.  Please know that I’d much rather put a product in your hands, but when the cards fall, sometimes you get a Royal Flush and sometimes you get a two 2’s, a King, a Jack, and the “Rules of Poker” card.  Sorry for the bad hand.

 

…on a semi-related note, I do want to say something about my solo career—and don’t misread this as a direct result of anything happening in Blue Tattoo.

 

My solo career has been very, very good to me.  My record sales have always resulted in a profit (I’ve made my money back and MORE on each CD).  I’ve had some really good gigs.  I’ve met some really good people.  It’s been the freaking Giving Tree of musical fulfillment.  Foolishly, in the past year, I’ve down-played my solo act to focus on Blue Tattoo.  While I was still working on the “Out from the Light” record (still available at www.derekbrink.com and at iTunes, Rhapsody, and Napster), I wrote in SEVERAL places that I was “going on vacation” as a solo artist and would be focusing on Blue Tattoo.  (I think that’s even still written on my website somewhere.)

 

…but I miss it.  And I miss writing new songs and records as a solo musician.  Already.

 

So, I’m going to be reviving my solo career a little bit.  I’m going to be in touch with some musicians to try to get a gig or two together, and I hope to bring my music to your ears in both live and recorded form again soon.  I’ll keep you posted.  Again…that’s not as much to do with Blue Tattoo as it is just that I feel like NOW is the right time to say that.  So I said it.  I just feel like I need to sh*t or get off the pot, musically speaking, and I’ve always met with an almost supernatural success with my solo-career…so that seems like something I might want to try again. 

 

There you go.

Leave a Reply

