And we’re back.

I never quite know how to resume blogging after posts like the last couple of ones I’ve done.  The stupid crap I normally spout seems somehow stupider, crappier, and spoutier after things like that…

 

…but we’ve got to start somewhere…so let’s start here.

 

I’ve been on a Monty Python kick lately.  It’s because they just released a new documentary called Monty Python: Almost the Truth (The Lawyer’s Cut).  Good documentary.  Hugely entertaining and funny—and I even learned some things I didn’t know.  So…I bought that.  I think I’m putting the complete Python (TV show) on my Christmas list (though I need to double-check the cost before doing so).  I bought John Cleese’s follow-up Fawlty Towers this weekend, and I’m half-way through it already.  I re-watched A Fish Called Wanda.  I’ve been kind of sucking up all the Python-related things I can lately.

 

…and then I remembered that one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen in my life involved Python.  It wasn’t a Python show or movie.  Wasn’t a documentary.  None of the group were present (except in the words used).  You won’t find a tape of this in any shop, or even in anyone’s private collections or home movies.

 

When my brother graduated from high school, he took part in a sort of talent show for just the Seniors.  (A tradition at our particular high school, mostly for drama and music students.  I did it, too, when I was there eight years later.  Go Wildcats.)  Dave was supposed to do a rendition of Python’s beloved Argument Sketch from the series.  The only problem was that his partner for the sketch had cancelled on him…so Dave had to go it alone.  He did a reading of just HIS half of the sketch (I think of it as The One-Sided Argument Sketch).  It went something like “Come in.  I told you once.  Yes I have.  Just now.  Yes I did.  I did!  I’m telling you I did!”  …and so on…for like 5 minutes.

 

…and that’s one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen.

2 thoughts on “And we’re back.”

Leave a Reply

