Bands I’ve Seen

(Small edit late 9/19/09) – My brother did his own list, too.  I’ve added a few from his, and a few that I thought up myself at the bottom.

 

I’m undertaking a BIG project.  I’m trying to make a list of all the bands I’ve seen.  That counts opening acts, festivals, etc…not all by choice (some multiple times, not by choice).  It’s a tough game to play.  I’ve been to a lot of shows.  As it turns out, some of them were kind of embarassing…but whatever.  No regrets.

 

This list, I should say, is incomplete.  I KNOW I’m missing some stuff.  I get the sense that I’m missing something HUGE, too…but I don’t know what it could be.  In one sitting, I got to 132 and had to stop because my head was starting to hurt.  Maybe if Dave’s reading along, he can fill in some gaps.  The list is semi-alphabetical (based on Excel’s system of alphabetizing…which is notably flawed in the “the” department…).  There’s a shockingly high number of crappy Christian acts, due to being a born-again Christian in my teen years (which, y’know…I still AM, but the term “born again” seems a little silly after you’ve been that for like 15 years—but that’s probably its own post) and my attendance of the Cornerstone Festival for a number of years.  There are also a lot of fairly obscure, yet awesome acts.  My apologies for the “who’s that?”-ing you’re about to do. 

 

That said, if you KNOW you’ve been to a show with me but you don’t see that band listed, please leave a comment.  National acts only, please.  (Much as I love some of my local favorites, they just don’t count when it comes to this list…if the band wouldn’t be known outside of their local bar, they don’t make the list.)

 

* = I’ve seen them more than once.  (In some cases, like the Drive-By Truckers and Cheap Trick, it’s about 10 times!)

 

Deep breath.  Let’s go!

 

  1. Aimee Mann
  2. Alice in Chains
  3. Allman Brothers
  4. Anthrax
  5. Ashley Cleveland
  6. Audio Adrenaline
  7. Bachman-Turner Overdrive
  8. Big Head Todd and the Monsters *
  9. Billy Joel *
  10. Billy Sheehan (Clinic)
  11. Billy Talent
  12. Black Crowes *
  13. Blues Traveller *
  14. Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band
  15. Bruce Willis
  16. Burlap to Cashmere
  17. Caedmon’s Call *
  18. Cheap Trick *
  19. Chuck Berry
  20. Dave Matthews and Tim Reynolds
  21. David Bowie
  22. David Crowder
  23. DC Talk (Shut up…I know…)
  24. Denison Witmer
  25. Dixie Dregs
  26. Dream Theater *
  27. Drive-By Truckers *
  28. Dropkick Murphys
  29. Elton John *
  30. Eric Clapton
  31. Ernie Isley and the Jam Band
  32. Felice Brothers
  33. Flickerstick
  34. Galactic Cowboys
  35. Geoff Moore and the Distance
  36. George Jones
  37. Glenn Kaiser
  38. Glimmer
  39. GOAT
  40. Great Big Everything
  41. Great White
  42. Greenwheel
  43. Greg and Rebecca Sparks
  44. Gretchen Wilson
  45. Halford
  46. Hank Williams III
  47. Heart
  48. Iggy Pop
  49. Iron Maiden *
  50. J. D. Blackfoot
  51. Jamey Johnson
  52. Jars of Clay *
  53. Jason Mraz
  54. Jeff Moody * (also played in his band)
  55. John Mellencamp
  56. Kansas
  57. Kendall Payne
  58. Kiss * (with and without make-up)
  59. Legendary Shack Shakers
  60. Madison Greene *
  61. Metallica
  62. Miranda Stone *
  63. Mitch McVicker
  64. Monster Magnet
  65. Motorhead *
  66. Mr. Big
  67. Murder By Death
  68. Murray Hammond
  69. MxPx
  70. Nashville Pussy *
  71. Neil Young
  72. Newsboys *
  73. Old 97s *
  74. One-5-Oh! *
  75. Open Skyz
  76. Our Lady Peace
  77. Pearl Jam
  78. Pedro the Lion
  79. Peter Tork
  80. POD
  81. Poor Old Lu
  82. Primus
  83. Psalters *
  84. Puddle of Mudd
  85. Queensryche *
  86. Ragamuffin Band (After Rich Mullins died)
  87. Reliant K
  88. REO Speedwagon *
  89. Reverend Horton Heat *
  90. Rich Mullins
  91. Ringo Starr and the All Star Band
  92. Robert Randolph and the Family Band
  93. Rolling Stones
  94. Rubyhorse
  95. Rush *
  96. Ryan Bingham & the Dead Horse
  97. Sammy Hagar *
  98. Screemin’ Cheetah Wheelies
  99. Seeds *
  100. Sheryl Crow
  101. Sixpence None the Richer
  102. Skillet
  103. Spice Girls
  104. Squeeze
  105. Steppenwolf
  106. Steve Taylor
  107. Stryper  (That’s right.  Stryper.)
  108. Styx
  109. Switchfoot
  110. The 77s
  111. The Band
  112. The Crossing
  113. The Drams
  114. The Lost Dogs
  115. The Who *
  116. Third Day *
  117. This Train *
  118. Tiger Army
  119. Toad the Wet Sprocket
  120. Tony Bennet (My Dad swears by this, but I don’t clearly remember it)
  121. Trixter
  122. Type O Negative
  123. Union
  124. Van Halen *
  125. Vigilantes of Love
  126. Waterdeep *
  127. Widespread Panic *
  128. Wilco
  129. Will Dailey
  130. Willie Nelson *
  131. Yes *
  132. Ziggy Marley

 

So…what’s your list?  (I know for a fact that my brother’s would dwarf mine.)

 

Edit: The list’s been up less than five minutes…and…  Red Hot Chili Peppers, Alice Cooper, and Lennon (the girl metal singer…not John).

 

Also…somehow forgot Def Leppard, Hayes Carll, Page/Plant—twice, and Soul Asylum.

…holy crap!  And Dio, Five Iron Frenzy, OC Supertones…Fear Factor, Fates Warning, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Power of County, The Tragically Hip, Rhett Miller, Fight…and Anthrax (John Bush era—the first go-around)…

9 thoughts on “Bands I’ve Seen”

  1. Wow. Just a long list. I’d be curious now to see your thumbs-up / thumbs-down opinion, not just of the shows you saw them at but the bands in general, but that is probably going to make this really big list unmanageable.

    And just how do you alphabetize the band names right under any system anyway? I hated this problem back when I worked at Blockbuster Music around 1998. My argument was that Sheryl Crow should go under “C” for her last name and Spice Girls under “S” for their band name, but they both ended up in the “S” section somehow. Then there’s Dave Mathews Band; “D” for Dave or “M” for Mathews? But perhaps the full name would be THE Dave Mathews Band and they’d go under “T”, which is where The Who and The Band went. Blockbuster’s computer system always had an answer for this, but it was not a consistent answer each time and was sometimes counter-intuitive.

    Back on the topic of this list, you should be proud music-geek.

    1. I understand your conundrum. Personally, I’d put Crow under “C” and the Dave Matthews Band under “D” since it’s inclusively the band’s name…and ALWAYS ignore articles. I’d have a gigantic “The” section in my record collection. (The exception to that rule, of course, would be “The The”—though I don’t own any of their music.)

      I considered doing a +/- thing for if I liked the band or not, but already had the * thing going and didn’t want it to get out of hand.

      …and, yeah, I’m a really proud music-geek. 🙂 Thanks!

  2. ARRRRRRGH!!!! Dude, you totally sniped me! I was planning on doing the same thing…on my dresser as we speak (type, whatever) is an envelpoe filled with band names for a post just like this one. I guess now it’ll be a compare and contrast when I put mine up, which I will try to expediate in the next day or two.

    1. Heh…oops. Sorry about that. But I do look forward to seeing what I missed on your list.

      …like Def Leppard and Page & Plant—twice—which somehow I forgot…which I shall now add.

  3. Oh, Def Leppard. St. Louis Arena … me, you and Dave. and Heeley?

    And wow, Open Skyz … kudos on remembering them at all. There was a song of theirs called ‘Open Skyz’, wasn’t there? Always a sign of a revolutionary band.

    1. I Googled them a couple of years ago. The lead singer had a solo record or two before fading into obscurity…didn’t know about the Journey cover band, though. That’s pretty embarassing.

      I did buy their record after the show. It was decent. Still have it, but haven’t listened to it in forever. Decent cover of “Give a Little Bit,” if memory serves.

      I remember that they were playing “One Vision” by Queen over the PA before they took the stage and we were both like, “Great song…these guys better not suck!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

