…………WHAT?!??? ………..WHAT???!?

Loud.

 

Motorhead was loud.

 

But I’m getting ahead of myself…

 

I knew I was in for a weird night when Nashville Pussy hit the stage and I actually kind of liked the first three songs.  As I said before, they’re a sucky bunch of sucks who suck…but they do know how to open up a set.  Got bored quickly…but I’ll give them slightly more credit than I was at first prepared to.

 

The Rev hit the stage next.  Weird set.  I’ve seen Heat a few times, and usually he’s started with “Big Sky/Baddest of the Bad.”  He started tonight with a song I can’t remember the name of off the top of my head.  Did four of his new tunes…from his COUNTRY record (that took HUGE BALLS!).  Then kicked into the hard stuff that he should’ve opened with.  All in all, really enjoyable and he at one point or another won over everyone…but if you want to see the Reverend Horton Heat, go to a show the band’s headlining.  …or just hang out in the merch-room after their set’s over.  Sooner or later, the Rev wanders into the room and shakes your hand.  (That happened tonight.  I met the Rev.  Thanked him for what he does and told him I bought my Gretsch because I saw him play in ’07.  Nice guy!)

 

Okay…I was in the merch room and missed the first few songs of Motorhead’s set while I was meeting The Rev…then I wandered into the entryway and it was loud THERE (with thick doors separating us from the band).  Walking in physically hurt.  It was the loudest thing I’ve ever experienced in my life (and I’ve even seen Motorhead before!).  My God…  A lot of you know that I’m deaf in my left ear…but I’m pretty sure I could hear the band in it tonight.  They were so loud that you could feel it in your chest between songs when Lemmy just SPOKE.  They were so loud that both Dave and I had to break out ear-plugs (probably the first time Dave’s done that in like 15 years).  They were so loud, that I hit “record” on my phone just to see what I’d pick up.  The microphone on my phone couldn’t process the information.  It just sounded like a screeching jet.  Loud.  Motorhead was f*cking LOUD.

 

…and awesome.  Worth every penny.

 

Here are some blurry pics from my cell-phone-telephone…

 

preshow
The stage before anyone went on. Kinda dig shots like this...the anticipation...the...blueish lighting...

 

Rev
The tiny man to the far left is Jim "The Reverend Horton Heat" Heath. He seemed really excited to meet me later.

 

Head
Motorhead. Lemmy was right in front of me. When he yelled at the balcony to stand up, I'm pretty sure he looked right at me. I was paralyzed with fear...and I stayed seated. 🙂
Leave a Reply

