Playing, Recording, etc…

So I’ve just gotten home from playing some six-string over at Mike Feldman’s house. 

 

As many of you will recall, I was a regular in Mike’s band for like 6 or 7 years.  In the last year, I’ve bowed out mainly because I didn’t want to work quite as frequently as he did playing cover songs.  He’s got a new guy in there now.  And he’s good.  I took in a show they did a couple of weeks ago, and they sounded pretty good.  But, anyway…just because we’re not working together, that doesn’t mean we’re not friends.  We both had a Sunday afternoon free, so we sat down and swapped songs and stories.  (I always like doing that.)

 

In November, I’ll be engineering a new record for Mike.  I’m probably going to end up doing some background vocals and maybe some harmonica playing on it, too…but mostly, I’ll be the engineer.  Should be fun.  It’s pretty easy to mix something that’s really guitar driven.  You focus on the guitar and the vocals and the rest falls into place pretty easily.  (By “pretty easily,” I mean it takes about 20 hours of work…whereas the Blue Tattoo CD, which does not really have one featured instrument, takes significantly longer.)  Looking forward to that.

 

In the weeks leading up to it, I’m going to FINALLY properly soundproof the basement of my house.  It’s going to be a lot of work, but it’s been pretty needed for a long time.  I’m not starting this week…probably more like the start of October.  Should go pretty quickly once I get going.  The difficult bit will be the pre-soundproofing clean-up.  I’ve got a lot of crap down there.  Gotta do something about it…so that’ll probably start before I buy all the sound tiles.  Maybe this week, if I can manage to get some SLEEP before going to work in the morning(s).

 

So…yeah…that’s what’s going on.  That, plus I’m going to the Reverend Horton Heat/Motorhead show in St. Louis on Wednesday…more on that later, I’m sure.

 

Okay.  That’s it for now.