How’d I Arrive at THAT?!?

I found a couple of compilation CDs I’d made around 2000/2001-ish…  I remember the circumstances around when I made these CDs, but I don’t specifically remember the year.  There are two of them.  One of them kind of still works…the other does not.  So, as a trip back in time…here’s the bizarre playlists of two weird mix CDs I found.  (Neither of them are titled or dated…they’re just weird…)  Apparently this is what I was listening to at the dawn of the new millennium.

 

Let’s start with the stronger playlist…

 

  1. A Little is Enough – Pete Townshend
  2. Iris – Goo Goo Dolls
  3. I’m A Loner Dottie, A Rebel – The Get Up Kids
  4. Broken – ALL
  5. Frog – ALL
  6. 8 Miles Low – Cheap Trick
  7. Run to the Water – Live
  8. High As the Moon – Get Up Kids
  9. Still Remains – Stone Temple Pilots
  10. Robin’s Song – Union
  11. Dance With You – Live
  12. Wishlist – Pearl Jam
  13. Falling – James LaBrie/Mullmuzzler
  14. Everyone Says ‘Hi’ – David Bowie
  15. Wonderful – Stone Temple Pilots
  16. Amanda – Boston (This one comes straight from the “WTF?!?!? file.)
  17. 5 Shots of Whiskey – Hank Williams III (Bizarre transition to country)
  18. Hurt – Johnny Cash
  19. Love Boat Captain – Pearl Jam
  20. One Year Later – The Get Up Kids

 

Okay…that one got weird toward the end…but this next one’s weird all the way through.  I don’t have any idea how I made the move from The Spice Girls to Dream Theater…but…here you go!

 

  1. Monkeywrench – Foo Fighters
  2. Flavor of the Weak – American Hi/Fi
  3. I Alone – Live
  4. Long Distance – ALL
  5. Say Goodbye – Cheap Trick
  6. Love (I Don’t Need it Anymore) – Union
  7. Saved – Queensryche
  8. Good Times Bad Times – Led Zeppelin
  9. Cursed Diamond – The Black Crowes
  10. Wishlist – Pearl Jam
  11. Everyone Says ‘Hi’ – David Bowie (Apparently I loved those two songs…)
  12. I Turn to You – Melanie C (I stand by this one!)
  13. Surrounded – Dream Theater
  14. Enormous Room – Michael Manring
  15. Viva Forever – The Spice Girls
  16. Speak to Me – Dream Theater
  17. Thursday’s Child – David Bowie
  18. Rise – Rubyhorse

 

So…I was a little too emo and a little too prog…and apparently very confused.

 

…the more things change…  🙂

 

Anyway…in honor of that time period…here’s a picture of my old band from roughly that era, Uncle Dick.

 

Left to right: Thatcher Bell - Drums; Dave Brink - Vocals (he's not bald anymore); Chris Teague - Guitar (he's got a beard now); and yep...that's me...I looked like that.
Left to right: Thatcher Bell - Drums; Dave Brink - Vocals (he's not bald anymore); Chris Teague - Guitar (he's got a beard now); and yep...that's me...I looked like that.

 

In case you’ve never seen the long-hair before…lemme give you a better look at it…

 

This was at the last ever Uncle Dick gig, which was also my brithday that year.  People kept handing me Guinness.  I'm thinking this was like Guinness #7...
This was at the last ever Uncle Dick gig, which was also my birthday that year. People kept handing me Guinness. I'm thinking this was like Guinness #7...
2 thoughts on “How’d I Arrive at THAT?!?”

Leave a Reply

