Hodge-Podge

^ I’m not 100% sure I spelled that right.

 

Here’s the stuff in my noggin…

 

  1. Blue Tattoo’s recording is progressing pretty well.  Listening to the playback of the stuff that we’ve been laying down, I’m really excited about the band.  I’ve said before that this band is the thing I’ve done that I’m proudest to be a part of (so proud that I’ve put my solo-career on hold to focus on it)—and the tracks are confirming that for me again.  I know it sounds vain, but I listen to it and I just keep thinking, “Why aren’t we HUGE yet?!?”  🙂  For the record, I kind of lose myself in the performance of the OTHER THREE guys more than in my own.  I’m a big fan of THEIR work, and that helps me detach from knowing I’m listening to stuff I wrote.  When I’ve got the songs playing, I’m not a member of the band anymore, I’m just a fan—and I’m a BIG fan.
  2. More on Blue Tattoo — I was getting frustrated a little bit ago thinking about the fact that we kind of hit a brick wall for getting gigs…but then I thought back on Uncle Dick.  It took us about three years (and two drummers) before we got our first gig.  Blue Tattoo formed in 2007…so actually, by previous standards, we’re a little ahead of schedule.  Good for us.
  3. “New Year’s Eve” update.  I’m posting it shortly.  I’ve got a mix I like, but for some reason I can’t get the pages to form properly for the upload.  Working on it.  You’ll hear it soon.  Sorry for the delay.
  4. Johnny and Julie’s wedding is this Saturday (rehearsal Friday).  I’m excited about performing the ceremony, and I’m excited for THEM.  They’re good together.  Should be a nice experience.  I did a lot of work on the service in the past two weeks, and I like the outline a lot…realized that the copy I sent to Johnny (who had to get my notes to a translator for the deaf for his brother, who is hearing impaired—and a big KISS fan, which isn’t really relative, but is worth mentioning) didn’t have the couple’s “kiss” in it.  Oops.  Of course that’s at the end…I should probably e-mail him on that one.
  5. QuikTrip is now serving Red Dogs (aka “Red Hots” or “Hot Links”).  I’m super-excited!  So far I’ve eaten four.  Not the best I’ve had, but considering it’s a gas-station hot dog, it’s pretty freaking great!
  6. Saw the Old 97s last weekend on my brother’s birthday (he was there, too)—late happy birthday, Dave.  Great show.  Posting a few pics at the bottom of this post.
  7. So…what is it about guys in pick-up trucks driving like assholes?  I’ve been cut off three times this week by guys in pick-ups.  It’s never a mom in a mini-van…it’s a guy in a pick-up.  And then they usually have the nerve to give YOU the finger, like they didn’t just pass you on the shoulder of the road.  …but I think I scared the hell out of the one I tailgated for three blocks yesterday…so at least he and I are even.  Schmuck.
  8. Bought a new briefcase.  It’s made by the Fender guitar company.  It’s a tweed-covered case that perfectly matches my amp.  A little ridiculous, but I’ve been getting compliments on it, and it’s probably the STURDIEST briefcase I’ve ever owned.  Is it sad that I’m excited about that?
  9. My friend/Blue Tattoo guitarist Chris has been working a lot of overtime lately.  He works for MoDot, monitoring traffic.  They made him work late the night of the Kid Rock/Skynyrd concert in St. Louis, because traffic was NUTS…I feel bad for Chris…but mostly that just got me to thinking that if we’d have just been able to convince President Obama to drop a bomb on the amphitheatre that night, we could’ve rid St. Louis of all of its white trash in one swoop…and probably greatly reduced the number of people cutting me off in their pick-up trucks, to boot.  Missed opportunity, there…  (Not that I actually wish these folks harm, of course.  I wish them education and elocution…but I’m a realist…getting the white trash to un-trash themselves is about as likely as getting President Obama to drop a bomb on the amphitheatre…)
  10. Speaking of the amphitheatre…  Farm Aid is coming to St. Louis.  Tickets go on sale to the public on Saturday.  That’s a once—maybe twice in a lifetime event for this town.  It happens the day before my Dad’s birthday.  Dave and I are trying to get tickets and take my Dad with us as a gift.  That’d be pretty cool.  Apart from supporting a cause I kind of believe in, I’d also get to see Willie Nelson and Neil Young in the same day (the latter of which I’ve never seen).  How awesome would THAT be?  Hope we get tickets…people will come in from all over the country for Farm Aid…  I’ll keep you posted, I’m sure.

Okay…that’s enough…  Here are those Old 97s pics…they’re all blurry, because my phone isn’t really designed for shooting bands on stage…but this proves I was there, anyway.

 

Decent side-view from where we were first sitting.
Decent side-view from where we were first sitting.
Tried to take another side-shot, but a man with a big shirt (re: fat guy) got in my way. Thought it was funny. :)
Tried to take another side-shot, but a man with a big shirt (re: fat guy) got in my way. Thought it was funny. 🙂
Moved closer and tried to get a full band shot...Ken moved and blocked Murray...so this isn't quite what I was hoping for...
Moved closer and tried to get a full band shot...Ken moved and blocked Rhett...so this isn't quite what I was hoping for...
Whole band's there this time, but Ken turned away...why does that guy keep spoiling my pictures?  Maybe he's just so much better than me on guitar that it's not worth his time to look at me...which seems about right.
This time, Ken turned away and blocked Phil...why does that guy keep spoiling my pictures? Maybe he's just so much better than me on guitar that it's not worth his time to look at me...which seems about right.
Leave a Reply

