A Word About Taxes

Okay.

 

We all know I’m a Democrat.  We all know that I have a lot of Republican friends.  In the course of conversation, the subject of politics comes up a lot, and every now and again I feel like I have to say something.  It’s a little less frequent now that the election’s over—somehow my candidate winning went a long way in proving my point for me…but I do have something that’s been on my mind.

 

I’ve been hearing a lot of people complaining about taxes.  Mostly Republicans who think “Obama’s gonna tax EVERYTHING!”  (These same people have failed to notice that the sales-tax in the city of St. Louis rose to just shy of 10% UNDER BUSH…but I digress…)  I hear a lot of people criticizing the “tax-and-spend” mentality of the Democratic Party.  And, yes…we do largely support that theory.  Apart from wondering where the money’s supposed to come from if not from taxes, I’d just like to say the following to all of my Republican friends, re: (GASP!) taxes…

 

America’s the greatest country in the world.  I don’t mind paying a little bit more for the priviledge of living here.

 

FREEDOM.  ISN’T.  FREE.

 

That either applies to all of us or none of us.

 

Thank you for your indulgence.  Here is a picture of Tom Wopat and John Schneider shooting pool.

 

tn350_wopat_schneider

(Stolen from the Internet.)

Leave a Reply

