End of the Job Hunt

As most of you are aware, I’ve been anticipating my release from SLCC on May 31.  As such, I’ve been looking for a new job.  Well, as it happens, I FOUND one!  I’ll be taking a position with an insurance company.  My last day at SLCC is May 15, this Friday!  Wow!

 

I’m excited and sad all at once.  I know some of the folks I’ll be working with, and the ones I don’t know that I’ve met seem really nice.  It’ll be a little bit weird, and I’m sure I won’t know what the crap I’m doing for a few days, but I’m looking forward to having a new job, essentially in the secular field, no less.  (Though, I should say, I know that the company was founded by Christians and many of the staff members are Christians as well.  Nevertheless, they’re an equal opportunity employer, so I guess it’s not a MUST that you behave yourself all the time, ha ha.)

 

I’m looking forward to working in a field where my every word and action won’t be hyper-analyzed.  Sometimes that gets to me working for the Christian College and/or in the Church.  That whole “glass houses” thing…I’m just not a fan of that.  That doesn’t mean I’m going to turn into some kind of rounder (look it up) or something.  It just means that I’m a little relieved that I’m no longer in a field where EVERYTHING is a moral issue.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the Church and I love Jesus, but working in that environment all day, every day, with people who run the gamut from “nothing is a sin” to “everything is a sin” to “it’s a sin if YOU do it, but not if I do” gets a little wearing.  I’m glad I get to work in a secular-ish environment where even if something IS a sin, they don’t necessarily call you on it.  🙂

 

At the same time, though, I’m glad I’ll still be working with a business that helps people.  Our company does intermediary work with insurance agencies and salvage groups, largely helping in disaster relief.  That’s pretty cool.  It’s important to me to feel that my job is making an impact on someone’s life, and in the case of what I’ll be doing, we’re helping people rebuild their lives after something awful happens.  That’s not so bad.  That’s God’s work.  I’m glad to have a part in it.

 

If you’re wondering…  The pay isn’t amazing.  I didn’t think it would be.  But for a complete career change, I’m not doing too badly.  In a lot of ways, it’s actually pretty generous (I just hope it still feels that way after taxes, ha ha).  Only thing I have to worry about is that my insurance won’t kick in for three months…so I either have to get some temporary insurance until then, or just hope I don’t need to go to the hospital until mid-August.  🙂

 

So…there’s my big news.

Leave a Reply

