The Kind of Pain that Makes You Scream for Jesus…

I’ve been fighting a toothache all day.  It actually kind of started on Friday night while I was watching “Cannonball Run” with my brother in honor of Dom DeLuise.  At the time, I just thought I had a headache and needed some sleep.  Ah…no.  This is pretty intense pain here, and I’ve been trying to distract myself all day.

 

I say “toothache,” but it could also be an ear infection.  In fact, I think that may be the case.  The pain reduces when my head is warm (like in the shower, or when I put a heating pad on my noggin).  Sometimes, it even feels better when I just cover my left ear with my hand…so I’m thinking it might actually be an ear-thing that’s also radiating into my gums and making them swell.  (Plus, Orajel doesn’t seem to do much for it…which is pretty indicative that it wouldn’t be a tooth problem at its core, since tooth remedies don’t help.)  I was hoping it was just an inner-mouth cold-sore (I get them IN my mouth, not around the edges/nose like most people do), but I haven’t had a cold.  (No swine flu for me yet!  Heh.)

 

Last time it was this bad was back in August, but it was on the other side.  I sat through an entire day of work from 8:00 to 6:00, then sat through the college’s new-student welcoming ceremony (there’s a church-word they used as the actual title, but I can’t remember what it is right now).  That ended at 9-ish.  During the entire ceremony, my mouth, face, and head were all throbbing.  I couldn’t concentrate on anything.  The refrain in my head was, “Lord, Jesus, please make the guy preaching shut up so I can get in my car and scream.”  Just that…over and over…

 

I don’t think it’s been quite THAT bad today.  On that one, I figured out that it was a sinus infection, because I sneezed three times in a row, hacked up a bunch of phlegm, and felt great.  🙂  Here’s hoping that happens tomorrow.  Until then, I’ll be the idiot with the heating pad on my face.

 

Actually, three Advil (Ibuprofen) and a dose of Sudafed Sinus Headache seems to have done a world of difference.  Still hurts, but it’s kind of tolerable right now.  I should go to bed while it lasts!

 

Also…  News I mentioned in the previous post should be posted on Monday, assuming the sweet Baby Jesus lets me live through this blinding, horrible pain.  So look for that.

————

Current Watching:

  • A program centering on the Christies auction that was held a couple of years ago where they sold off a bunch of Star Trek stuff for hundreds of thousands of dollars.  (The “hero” Enterprise model from The Next Generation went for something like $400,000.)  As much as I love the show (especially the original series, The Next Generation, and parts of Voyager (mostly Jeri Ryan’s parts…cough…), I’m not rushing out to see the JJ Abrams movie (I’ll catch it on DVD).  I know everyone thinks it’s great, but I just don’t trust Abrams with the franchise, especially seeing promos where he’s got Slushos and stuff like that sitting around in the background.  If the guy wants to reboot the series, fine, I’ll write it off in on the same pad as The New Coke and the season of Welcome Back Kotter that didn’t have Gabe Kaplan in it…but he really doesn’t need to whore his metaverse crap in something of which people are so protective.  I’m not even a CRAZY Trekkie…but there’s a line even for folks like me, and putting Star Trek in the same world as Alias is it…  Spock didn’t drink Slusho.  He just didn’t.  (Also Fringe sucks…and it also sucked when it was called The X Files.)  Nerd-rant over.  🙂
Leave a Reply

