Fink Beats the Stomach

I’ve been sick for a couple of days.  Well…since yesterday, anyway, and it’s bleeding over into today.  I woke up around 6 a.m. on Tuesday and felt like someone was stabbing me in the stomach.  It hurt so much I thought I might have to go to the emergency room…but I didn’t.  The pain stopped, but my stomach’s still really uneasy.  I went in to work today (and I’m taking a SHORT break to write this), but the drive in made me queasy.  Plus, we’re right above the Cafeteria and the food-smells are making me sick.  (We have an excellent Cafeteria.  Please don’t misread what I’m saying there.  It could be the finest cooking the world has to offer, but it’d still make me queasy today.)  I’m probably going to leave early if this keeps up.  I did eat a little last night, though.  I had a sandwich and a tangerine.  Both seemed mild and safe.  Didn’t seem to make me any sicker, so I guess that’s good.

 

It seems like I’m always either sick or exhausted, doesn’t it?  I even normally LIKE Wednesdays (unlike most of the office-world).  Today’s really dragging, though.  I’ve been here a little less than two-hours and it feels like it’s been six.  I can’t focus long enough to accomplish anything — which is part of why I’m blogging right now, since that doesn’t require any focus other than the train of thought I have at the time.  I’m just already ready for today to be over.

 

Fortunately, though, the students who’ve been in here today have been really nice, and one or two of them even made me smile — a tough effort on a day like today.  So, y’know…there’s that.  Occasionally the perks of working here catch up with me and make even a miserable day kind of good.

 

Anyway…the five-minute break I gave myself is up, so I’m going to stop writing.  Back to the grind.  Just needed to go somewhere and whine, and I prefer to do that in print for some reason.  🙂

 

(The title of this post is a reference to the movie “Meatballs” by the way.)

Leave a Reply

