Foods I Will ALWAYS Eat…

Those who know me well know that I define myself as a Christian, a Liberal, and–above all else–a “foodie,” one who delights and/or rejoices in food.  As a foodie, there are foods I enjoy more than others.  Below is a list of those I will always eat if they are placed before me.  Bon Appetite!

 

  • Chicken and Dumplings – Very few things look as unappetizing as chicken and dumplings.  Usually they come out looking slightly grey in the broth, and the chicken looks stringy and surrounded by big, clumpy things that make the initiated wonder, “So…those are the dumplings, right?”  Doesn’t LOOK great, but man…them’s tasty.
  • Club Sandwich from Penn Station – I’m a big Penn Station fan.  I like every sandwich I’ve had from there, and I’ve had most of them…but my favorite is the club.  I’ve only had one better, at McAlister’s Deli.  But I don’t live very near a McAlister’s…so I go to Penn Station a lot.
  • Pretty much anything on the menu at Fast Eddie’s.  I have a particular predilection for their shrimp, the pork kabob, and the recently added red hot.  The best thing about Fast Eddie’s is the prices.  There’s very little food there that costs more than a buck–they make all their money on beer–but it’d be worth it if everything were like $7.  Great food–way better than most fast food places–and amazing prices.
  • Pot Roast – I guess I’m just Southern enough that I hear the words “pot roast” and my mouth waters.  No details on this one.  I just like it.
  • Corned Beef and Cabbage – I’m Irish.  What can I say?  I love corned beef and cabbage, and I’ll eat it any day of the week, any time of year.  It’s not just for St. Pat’s.  A friend of mine doesn’t like it because when he was a kid, he sat down to dinner expecting to take a big bite out of a piece of ham, and instead was greeted with corned beef.  I can see where that’d put you off it.  I prefer it served with those little potatoes, btw.
  • Tamales – Ones done in a proper Mexican place…I get bored of those microwave ones easily, but I’ll ALWAYS eat a real tamale–you know, when they’re fresh, hot, and they almost have a sweet taste to them.  Outstanding.
  • Biscuits and Gravy – Preferably with hash browns – I CRAVE this like all the time.  I kind of want to go to Waffle House and eat it right now.  I like the gravy to be thick enough that you can actually bite into the sausage.  And I like my hash browns plain, as God intended them.  I actually had a back and forth conversation over Facebook with my friend Shara not too long ago where she was wanting biscuits and gravy, and it got ME wanting them.  I offered to meet her in Illinois at a Waffle House (she lives in Indiana), but she had to work.  Oh well…
  • Tater Tots – I have no idea why, but I love Tater Tots…and I’ve loved them since WAY before their inclusion in that ridiculous “Napoleon Dynamite” travesty.  I think I just like potato products.  Probably goes back to being Irish…
  • A steak – I’ll cancel family reunions to get a steak.  I’ll leave church in the middle of a sermon I’m preaching for a steak.  I’d leave my wife (if I had one) sitting in the delivery room giving birth to what we know would be our only child to get a steak.  …and there better not be any crap on it like spices, sauces, or garlic butter, or I’m kicking the crap out of somebody.  I didn’t leave my wife who will be forever barren after this experience sitting in a hospital bed to eat a steak with garlic butter on it.
  • A lobster tail – preferably accompanying the steak.  Steamed, not grilled.
  • Crab legs – Personal best at the Ameristar buffet is 11 plates.  I like the ritual of ripping apart the crab and the awesome, brilliant taste of the meat from within.  Plus, I think I feel somehow victorious eating crab…after all, they kind of look like big spiders, and I HATE spiders.  Shoot…if spiders tasted that good, I’d eat ’em…not that I have any idea how spiders taste in the first place…but you get my point.

I’m leaving some stuff out–like ribs, home-made bread, and pretty much anything with bacon in it–but my goal was to make you hungry and mad that it’s not lunch-time yet…and I think I’ve probably accomplished that…so I’ll bow out.  🙂

 

Oh, and on a completely unrelated note, I’ll probably be sending off the new record for replication within a 1-2 week period.

Leave a Reply

