Obama, The Boss, and My Laptop

So, by now you all probably know that Obama picked Joe Biden to be his running mate. I must say, I didn’t think it’d be Biden. I’m not disappointed or anything, I just didn’t think it’d be him. I expected someone a little younger and less of an “insider.”

But, the plus side to Biden being the guy is that it gives Obama the resource of having someone with a lot of experience on the ticket with him (to counter Obama’s relative lack of experience). Biden is fairly unique in that respect, though. Sure, he’s had a long political career and is something of a Washington insider, but he’s never actually LIVED there–which is kind of a rare thing. Plus, I like the fact that the guy speaks his mind–if he’s asked to or not–and is quick at thinking on his feet.

It also seems like poetic justice that Biden would be the VP candidate. After all, it was Biden’s own comments about Obama that pretty much got him booted out of the run for Presidential candidacy. I like that Obama seems to recognize (unlike the rest of America) that Biden was TRYING to pay him a compliment when he said he was “clean, articulate, etc, etc” and that his long memory for a guy saying a nice thing about him paid off.

Which brings me to the following…

I keep encountering pissed off Clinton supporters who are mad that Obama didn’t pick her for his VP (and for some reason, mentioning that Biden has more actual experience than she does just pisses them off more). I raise the following point… Hillary said some really crappy things about Obama in the primaries and hung around in the race for about 1-2 months longer than she should have trying to divide the party and make him look bad. She played dirty politics against someone that was/is ON HER SIDE. Why would he choose her? I like Hillary. I do…but no one anywhere–LEAST of all her–should have expected Obama to give her the nod.

As a voter, I’d like to think that the people I’m trying to vote into the nation’s two highest offices basically get along. I wouldn’t think that on an Obama/Clinton ticket. I’d think Hillary was constantly second-guessing and arguing with him and he’d keep responding with “yes…but I won, so we’re doing my thing.” I don’t want that. I want a Vice-President who LIKES the man s/he’s running with. Biden went on record saying he liked Obama from minute one, and it (along with a poor choice of words) pretty much cost him any hope of becoming President.

…plus, I think Hillary’s probably too proud (or something meaner) to have accepted the offer to be Vice President anyway.

…so it’s Joe Biden. When they introduced him for the first time, the music they played was Bruce Springsteen’s “The Rising” from his record of the same name. “The Rising” was the record that got the E Street Band back together, and was primarily written by Bruce in reaction to his feelings about 9/11/01. It’s a compelling listen and the lyrics are poignant and egdy. It expresses a feeling of wanting America to rise from the ashes of 9/11/01 and become a great place again…and that’s something I think we’ve just plain not been able to do under the present administration. Instead we’ve just been adding the ashes of slaughtered Iraqis to the pile Osama Bin Laden began with New Yorkers–and I’m still not sure how that even happened. I like that Obama/Biden are using that song and that concept to support their campaign. We really need to rise. America’s bald-eagle needs to turn into a phoenix.

The thing is, I saw Springsteen on Saturday and he played the song, but he didn’t mention its use earlier that day. I’m wondering if he even knew about it, ha ha. The show was great, though where I sat the sound sucked. Bruce and the E Streeters played for about three and a half hours and played a bunch of songs that were rarities. Fun show. Charged and uplifting. It’s odd that he doesn’t play “Born in the USA” anymore (which is okay, actually, because I’ve never really cared for that one), but maybe he’ll bring it back when/if Obama/Biden win.

In a completely unrelated note, I’m going to buy a new laptop soon. The one I have keeps turning itself off for no good reason, and I’m tired of dealing with it…so I’m going to get a new one. I could have the current one fixed, I’m sure…but I’ve got all my files backed up and it’s three years old and a little sluggish anyway. Let’s just upgrade to something with like 3-4 GB of RAM and a super-big hard-drive. I’m probably going shopping today, in fact.

I think that’s all that’s worth saying for now. I’m going to go do some stuff.

Current Listening:

  • Still on a Springsteen kick…
Leave a Reply

