OOOOOps…

(The five O’s in the title are supposed to be the Olympic rings, but there’s no way to make them overlap like they’re supposed to.)

Someone mentioned to me that I said I’d post “tomorrow” about the Olympics a few days ago, but then I didn’t. Truth is, I wrote the blog and hit “save,” but didn’t post it. My–as the kids say–bad. So, I’m scrapping that and writing from scratch, mostly because a lot has happened since.

First off, I’m not usually the type of guy who watches the Olympics. Don’t know what happened, but I’m really into it this year. I’ve watched stuff I would NEVER watch any time other than during the Olympics. Of course, to be fair, they rarely show competitive women’s BB-gun shooting or Ping-Pong during the regular, non-Olympic years. (I call that stuff the “Weird Olympics.”)

Anyhoo…let’s do the rest of this in bulleted fashion…

  • Congrats to Michael Phelps, who I’m going to go ahead and list as a reader of my blog, even though he isn’t. Part of me is really happy for the guy, accomplishing something completely unprecedented in not only Olympic, but SPORTS history. Then there’s the part of me that kind of judges him. I’ve heard and read online that his diet consists of, “8,000 to 10,000 calories a day…[and for breakfast he has] three sandwiches of fried eggs, cheese, lettuce, tomato, fried onions, and mayonnaise; add one omelet, a bowl of grits, and three slices of French toast with powdered sugar; then wash down with three chocolate chip pancakes.” …I eat like that. Where’s MY medal?
  • Shawn Johnson should have gotten the gold. I’m sorry to the kid whose name I can’t pronounce, but Shawn’s just a better all-around gymnast, and you could tell by watching it that even Mary Lou thought so (and when the BEST gymnast of all time gives you her endorsement, that means a lot). I’m happy for the blonde girl, and she certainly did some really impressive stuff…but Shawn’s just better. But it’s probably for the best. I get the sense that if that girl hadn’t won, her dad would’ve beaten her black and blue. I mean the guy was quoted saying something like “Silver is the worst medal. There’s no medal but gold.” (That’s a paraphrase.) Yikes.
  • Bela is freaking nuts, and I love it. He’s just this freaking crazy old dude. He also has a valid point about the Chinese gymnast from tonight getting unfairly high scores and the US girl getting cheated. I’m not into the whole “USA #1” kick…normally if we lose something, we were just plain beaten and no amount of patriotism can change that…but that girl was robbed.
  • So the US Volleyball ladies. Hot, right?
  • A lot of people are going nuts about George W. Bush’s demeanor during the Olympics. Those who are regular readers are probably expecting some kind of cheap shot or easy jokes at this point…but I’m not doing that. Yeah, there are some goofy pictures of his time there circulating online…and yes, he actually DID say in his interview with Bob “Perfect Hair” Costas that, “I don’t see America having any problems.” (And he was talking about the COUNTRY, not the Olympic competition.) Sure, there’s some legitimate fodder here and I could go nuts…but c’mon. The dude was basically on vacation. I’m not going to fault him for not bringing his A-game when he’s in beach-shorts, sandals, and a henley. Dude’s gotta relax sometimes.
  • I’m not sure what else to look forward to in the games, since I was mostly in it for the swimming and gymnastics. I’m sure I’ll have some fun with the “Weird Olympics” as they continue…and maybe I’ll post some about that.

So, there’s my Olympic post. Hope it was worth the wait. I know Michael Phelps will enjoy it.

———-

Oh…also, I finally saw “The Dark Knight.” My review of this movie is exactly the same as what I said when I first heard that Heath Ledger had died…

Ho. Ly. Sh*t!

GREAT movie. Best reading of the Joker I’ve ever seen (and I really dug both Romero and Nicholson, and Hammil’s read on the cartoon was incredible). I like that Ledger was able to be cartoony at times, but also delivered a really chilling, creepy Joker too. Intense flick with tremendous impact. Almost makes me want to demand an apology from Tim Burton (who I’m also going to say is an avid reader).

2 thoughts on “OOOOOps…”

  1. Does Mark Hamill read your blog too? Tell him I want to see “Star Wars Episode Seven” as soon as possible.

    Ledger was brilliant as Batman’s nemesis, but I wonder if that was strength of the actor OR the character OR the story. I loved the movie either way and I hope he gets the Oscar (or some other award). He deserves it and not just because it will be the posthumous nod that many actors get.

    Here is the proper introduction of the Joker.
    The Dark Knight Clip: First 6 Minutes – Trailer Addict

  2. Yeah, sure, Mark and I go way back… 🙂

    The thing I’ve noticed about Ledger ever since I saw “Lords of Dogtown” (and have since seen much of his earlier work) is that I’m never aware that I’m watching HIM in a role–and I’ve more than once had to check the credits to see who he was. He tends to completely give himself over to the character and has turned in some of the bravest work on screen that I’ve seen out of an actor from his/my generation.

    …this of course is in exception of “10 Things I Hate About You” and “A Knight’s Tale.” 😉

Leave a Reply

